Book Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

99days_cv_web99 Days

Authoh: Katie Cotugno

Standalone

Release Date: April 21st, 2015

Rating: 3 Stars

Publisher: HarperCollins

Summary: Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything-how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.

Day 4: A nasty not on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me, “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me-and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

My Thoughts:

There wasn’t a whole lot that I liked about this book. The book follows Molly who in ninety-nine days will be leaving for Boston to attend college. Molly is forced to spend the summer at home before school starts. To spend the summer running in to the same people she is running from. She has to spend the rest of summer trying to figure out how to avoid those who now hate her, especially Patrick, the ex she cheated on, the one who was supposed to be across the country.

What I Liked: 

Gabe, Imogen, and Tess. I think they are what redeemed the book just a tiny bit. Gabe was cute and funny and I liked that he had Molly’s back. He knew how hard it was for her to be home and he wanted to make it as easy as possible for her and he wasn’t afraid of anyone talking about them. Imogen was amazing and was a true friend to Molly. Through it all Imogen was there defending Molly to people who gossiped about her. Now Tess and Molly didn’t have a long relationship. They met when Molly gets her old job back and comes to find out that Tess is now dating Patrick. Despite all that Tess still is nice to Molly. She treats her like a friend and even goes so far as to hang out with her. I liked Tess a lot because most girl wouldn’t give the ex-girlfriend the time of day. These characters definitely made up for Molly.

What I didn’t like:

Molly and Patrick. I didn’t like the relationship between Molly and Patrick. She cheated on him and then focused only on how it affected her. Patrick and Molly grew up together and were inseparable, she was in love with him and him with her. After a huge fight Molly turns to Patrick’s brother Gabe for comfort and they end up sleeping together. That right there pissed me off but after making this mistake and Gabe leaves for college, Molly pretends nothing happened and gets back with Patrick. Patrick ends up finding out about what happened between Molly and Gabe, they break up and Patrick ends up hating Molly. The way Molly treats people made me so angry. The way she treats Gabe is so horrible. Every time she’s with him she can’t keep Patrick off her mind. She shows up at Imogen’s work and expects Imogen to just be okay with her just taking off. Despite the fact that she left without saying goodbye, or explaining why she was leaving and she comes back with no apology and just expects Imogen to be okay with it. It doesn’t even cross Molly’s mind that Imogen might be hurt. It doesn’t even occur to Molly to apologize until Imogen tells her that she deserves one. Honestly if Molly had made the one mistake and then grown up and taken responsibility for her actions it wouldn’t have bothered me, but then she makes the exact same mistake except it’s with opposite brothers. I could go on and on about what I didn’t like about the choices that Molly made, but we would be here all day.

Overall:

I believe that everyone should make the decisions when deciding if they like a book or not. So really if you are interested in reading this one then definitely do it. Who knows you make fall in love with it.

XOXO

Jackie

Leave a Reply

