Book Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

20345202The Girl at Midnight

Author: Melissa Grey

Book #1 In the Girl at Midnight Series

Release Date: April 28th, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Summary: Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, and Ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments kept them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasure on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, It’s how to hunt down what she wants… and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

My Thoughts:

Oh man I could not put this one down. I have been on such a fantasy/magic/witches binge that this just hit the spot. The book follows a girl named Echo (a name that I love by the way) an orphan thief who lives inside a Library (Um other than a bookstore that would be my dream place to live). One night she meets The ALA, a mystical woman with feathers for hair (I mean they have FEATHERS for HAIR) and her life as she knows it will never be the same. Soon she finds her self immersed in an age old battle between the Avicen and Drakharin, a magical group of people said to be able to transform in to dragons and control fire. With her best friend Ivy, Jasper, resident thief, and two unlikely allies Caius, the former Dragon Prince, and his best friend Dorian. They will race against Altair, a man with his own agenda and Tanith, the new Dragon Prince, to find the Firebird before it falls into the wrong hands.

What I liked:

Echo! I thought she was such an amazingly written character. She wasn’t whiny, she didn’t complain why it had to be her, and she didn’t act like she couldn’t handle something. She didn’t wait for the guy to come to save her and more often she was the one to take the lead and make decisions. Which I liked greatly! She was loyal to those she loved and to the Avicen people as whole, even though most looked at her like she didn’t belong. She had this need to prove to the Avicen that she did in fact belong and that even though she was human she could be useful.

Caius. I’m going to be honest here I felt like my focus was so much on Echo that I didn’t really invest myself in many of the other characters. And while I like Caius, I am in love with Echo. That being said I did like Caius quite a bit. He also is loyal to his people the Drakharin but he is open to friendships with the Avicen. As proven by a certain relationship… I don’t want to give to much away. Despite the fact that he was taught to hate the Avicen he can’t find it in himself to hate them. Caius is not impulsive. I liked that he thought things through. He plans and he comes up with a strategy, he doesn’t just jump and hope things work out. Which is something I like better in characters.

Echo and Caius. I thought that they worked well together. I want them to be together more than I want her and Rowan. I thought they worked well together. Although both relationships were really well written. They weren’t childish and annoying. In both relationships they treat Echo as an equal. They know she’s a fighter and they know that she knows how to handle herself. But still I’m rooting for Caius and Echo!

What I didn’t like:

Rowan and Echo. Despite being well written, I still had a problem believing that Echo and Rowan should be together. For some reason I don’t trust Rowan. In the book it’s mentioned that they’ve known each other since childhood but I didn’t feel like there was any spark between them. They just didn’t do it for me and I couldn’t shake the feeling that Rowan isn’t to be trusted.

Ivy and Echo. I loved both Ivy and Echo. I liked that Ivy was willing, despite the risk to her, to stay with Echo through the whole mission. And I loved that Echo wanted to protect her. I just wished I had more of them. And I can only hope that we see more of a back story for Ivy and more of the kind of relationship Ivy and Echo have. I love Melissa’s writing and I would love to see the kind of friendship that they share. There is not a whole lot of good girl friendship in YA and I love to read about it any chance I get.

Ruby. Ugh Ruby. I did not like her at all. I thought she was annoying and I was rooting for Echo to just punch her in the face every time she popped up. Which was not often. I did not see what happened to her coming… at all.

Tanith. I hated her slightly more than I hate Ruby. That’s not saying much. I wish that there wasn’t brotherly love holding Caius back from putting her in her place! But I guess if that happened there wouldn’t be much of a story. I just can’t wait to see what happens to her!

Overall:

This is a book I strongly recommend reading. You can’t put this one down. It’s one that leaves you wanting to read it again and again. I don’t normally preorder (although I found myself preordering quite a few books this year, already!) but I definitely preordered this! I also ordered it from Book Depository so I could get the U.K. cover (which is so much prettier). Sorry U.S. I highly recommend picking this one up, you won’t be sorry! Good news you don’t even have to wait that long because it comes out April 28th! YAY!

Links for purchase:

Amazon/ B&N/ Book Depository (U.S.)/ Book Depository (U.K.)

Leave a Reply

