April 2015 Discussion Challenge #1- Judging Female Characters

2015-Discussion-Challenge3

I follow a lot of book bloggers and get a lot of e-mail updates. The other night I got an e-mail to be a part of the 2015 Discussion Challenge hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight! The whole point of the Discussion Challenge is to get book bloggers to not only read, but talk more too. Head on over to Feed Your Fiction Addiction to find out more about the challenge and how to participate.

So I was thinking about goals and sometimes I tend to go overboard with my ability to post or do something. So I thought I would be more practical and shoot for Creative Conversationalist, which is between 13-24 posts. That seems crazy but I’m optimistic!

So recently I was reading Bloodlines by Richelle Mead and I started thinking to myself…

Do I judge female characters to hard?

As I was reading Bloodlines, every time Sydney made a choice I just couldn’t help but question her decision. I was so angry that she didn’t speak up. The fact that she judged every Vampire and dhampir that she came in to contact with was annoying. I mean I know she was raised that way but it’s just a bit ridiculous. It started me thinking about how many times I do this, and I started wondering do I judge to many female characters to hard? There are some books that I can’t even finish because I absolutely loath the female lead. When I read a book I tend to think in terms of what would I do in their situation and if they don’t do it like I would or they don’t handle it the way I would I get upset. I don’t judge them for being sluts, or prudes, or the good girl, or the bad girl. I judge them for making bad/stupid choices, or judging people they don’t know, or slut-shaming, etc. I came up with a list, a very small list of books I read where I couldn’t stop judging the female lead, for some reason or another.

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead: I was reading this one and I want to finish it because it is pretty good and of all the female characters I’ve read she’s not the worst. But I had to put it down for now because I was just not invested in it and it was taking me so long to read. I’m either sit down and read a book in one sitting or  it takes me months to finish.

99 Days by Katie Catugno: I could not stand the girl in this one. If you read my review you know how I feel. I ended up finishing this one because I wanted to see how it ended and I honestly thought it would be a really cute love story. I just couldn’t get behind her choices or the way she acted. I’m not a big fan of cheating and the fact that she did it twice, with the same people, just astounded me.

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry: I have to say I didn’t hate Emily. I did hate some of the choices she made. I also hated the way she treated certain characters, when all they wanted was to get to know her. Other than these problems I didn’t have an issue with Emily.

Divergent by Veronica Roth: I actually hated this whole series. I read Divergent when it first came out and I liked it and then as I continued reading the series my dislike grew. I didn’t like Tris. I thought she was to impulsive and she just made stupid decisions. Again I’m not in her shoes so I don’t know how I would handle it but I think I would handle it better, at least I hope I would.

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter: I didn’t like Alice. She was stupid and impulsive. She put people in danger because she wouldn’t trust anyone to help her or let them in enough to come up with a better plan.

Evermore by Alyson Noel: Ugh I think this is the worst female lead in any book I’ve read. There is a scene in one of the sequels where Damen the guy she loves is being saved by friends and instead of listening to the people Damen trusts, she listens to the guy who isn’t to be trusted, the guy who has his own agenda and she ends up screwing up the whole thing. I read this so long ago so I can’t remember everything that happened but I think it was a few pages after that scene that I gave up on the books!

The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith: This one was more the whole love triangle than the anything Elena did. But I just thought this whole story was so annoying. I hate love triangles. I thought that the story would have been so much better if it was from Caroline. I admit I only read the first two books because this was before the T.V. show. But even the T.V. show should be told from Caroline’s POV. I just thought she was a better character than Elena. She’s stronger and makes better choices and she just is a more well rounded character.

I think one of the things is that these authors could write such interesting characters and they choose to write characters who are to weak they need a man to come in and save her. Or they think no one will understand what they’re going through so they never tell anyone what they have to do and they end up hurting people because of the secret. I just can’t stand poorly written characters when there is so much good authors can do with female characters. So what I want to know is do you guys do this too? Do you think this is unfair way to judge a character? Is their certain books you can’t stand because of the way a character is written? Let me know in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “April 2015 Discussion Challenge #1- Judging Female Characters

  1. I do think I, and other people, tend to judge female leads pretty hard. I also think you’re right in that if they don’t make the choices we “think” we would make in that same situation, then we’re mad at them. I’ve done this all the time. But then I have to remind myself… just because I don’t think I would have made that choice if I was in that same situation does not mean I’m right. If I was actually faced with that same situation, I don’t really know what I would do. I could do the same thing the character does. You just never know until you’re there. It’s kind of like the $20 test. Someone drops a $20 in front of you by accident and they never know it. You could pick it up and leave with it, or pick it up and chase after them. Naturally, I’d like to think I’d give it back. But I won’t really know until I get there. (I still think I’d give it back though.) LOL!

    Like

    • Im going to need to remind myself of that as well. I always get so angry and I’m still trying to get in to the habit of reminding myself that not every girl is going to make the same choices nor are they going to have the same goals or motivations as I am. I’m actually happy to say that I have given back money when someone drops it and doesn’t realize it. It’s a karma thing! But I agree completely you never know what you would do in that situation! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. The main reason I get mad is that some characters don’t have good enough reason to act the way they do. If the motivation is strong and the reasoning makes sense, I usually can accept the character’s decision.

    Like

Leave a Reply

