Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder_hi-res Title: Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Book #1 in the Lunar Chronicals

Release Date: January 3rd, 2012

Rating: 5 Stars

Publisher: Macmillan

Summary: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

My Review:

There are certain books that get so much hype that you get excited before you even crack them open. My sister was on me so much to read this one as well and even muttered a finally under her breath when she saw me reading this. I am so glad that I did because it was literally quite amazing. I am loving the new takes on old fairytales. Cinder if you haven’t guessed it is based on the story of Cinderella. Cinder is a young cyborg living in New Beijing with her stepmother Adri and her stepsisters’ Pearl and Peony. When she meets Prince Kai and her world changes forever. Oh man this is where the story really picks up! You start getting in to all these mysteries. What is Letumosis? Where did the disease come from? Where did Cinder come from? Who is she really? All these questions build and you get most of the answers throughout the book but you are left with so many other mysteries. That makes you want to pick up the second and then the third right away! Seriously I suggest before you read these ones to have them all available before hand because you are going to go through withdrawals!

I mean the last chapter of Cinder was really just.. WOW! I don’t know if any one else had the same theory about the end that I did, but did you guys see that one coming? Now lets talk about these characters! Honestly I am so in love with the way that Marissa writes her characters because they are funny, and smart, and loyal. They’re just amazing well developed characters. Very rarely do you come across such great characters. Cinder is loyal and brave. She is willing to risk herself to help save Peony, who she loves and Kai who she just met but has such a connection to. You literally want to get dolls and push their faces together and make kissing noises. Their relationship is great because it’s not insta-love. It felt very natural and real. Nothing was rushed or forced.

Overall the twists and turns of this story just leave you hanging on every word. Leaving you wanting more and more. Plus I mean the secrets that are revealed at the end of the book! I mean come on! It’s SOOOO good! I just can’t even describe how good this book was. It was just such a great book and just a beautiful take on Cinderella. I really don’t want to see this series end but I am also excited to see what else Marissa has for us. Plus I heard that Winter is going to be like 800 pages. I mean 800 PAGES!

Let me know what you guys think. Have you read this book? If so did you like it? Dislike it? Why? I would love to hear your opinions!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Cinder was… predictable. I knew what was going to happen when the foreshadowing was placed. However, that didn’t deter me from reading at all! I LOVE Marissa’s writing style and how she can make me love third person, even though I’ve sworn it off for most authors.

    Her characters are so amazing. Once you get to Cress, it’s like a total party going on, especially since they’re all distinct and not cut out at all!

    Like

    • Yes! I’m really glad I’m not the only one who thought so. I loved every second but you could definitely see the twists coming, not that that’s necessarily a bad thing! Oh man I am so excited for Cress! I love Rapunzel and the fact that she’s a hacker just makes it like 10 times better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

