Book Review: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

image Nowhere But Here

Author: Katie McGarry

Thunder Road #1

Release Date: May 26th, 2015

Rating: 4 Stars

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Summary: Seventeen year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she’s curios about her biological father-the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent-but that doesn’t mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They’re the good guys. They protect people. They’re…family. And while Emily-the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club’s most respected member-is in town, he’s gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it’s his shot at his dream. What he doesn’t count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

My Review:

Oh my goodness was this predictable from the very beginning. There was the same slew of characters in these types of books, there’s the bad boy who is loyal to everyone he loves, and the boy who is a good guy but has a past that makes him violent, but it even if it’s done before I still loved every second of it and can’t wait to read the rest of them. I am a huge fan of Sons of Anarchy, so I love all the stories with guys in motorcycle clubs! Emily is a girl who grew up in sunny California with a mother that loves her and a stepdad she thinks of as her own dad, Eli her real dad is part of a motorcycle gang that she sees every once in awhile. After getting an email from Eli about the death of his mother, they rush to Kentucky to attend the wake. There Emily meets Oz, a boy who has wanted nothing more than to follow in his fathers footsteps and join the motorcycle club. He gets tasked with protecting Emily from a rival gang out to settle the score for a secret no one but Eli and Emily’s mom knows. I loved the hate between Oz and Emily. Let me just say that when characters hate each other and then learn to love each other are my favorite types of books. I read Pushing the Limits quite awhile ago and wasn’t a fan. I thought the characters were annoying and so I didn’t have my hopes up for reading this one. So I was glad that I actually liked this one despite the predictability.

Oz was cute and I liked the way he was so protective of the club at first and then as his feelings grew towards Emily he became really protective over her. The thing that bothered me was Emily. She was so caught up in judging these people that she couldn’t see past the motorcycle club to see that these were good people. I guess that’s to be expected when you grow up with a mother that adamantly tries to turn you against everyone in the club. As time goes on Emily starts to calm down and accept the people in the club in to her life and finds her self wanting to know them more. She starts to realize there is more to these people than meets the eye, like Olivia, Emily’s grandma. She was so badass and so willing to do whatever it took to make sure her family was okay, including Emily. Even if Emily tries her hardest to not get attached to anyone.

I liked the relationship because it wasn’t love at first sight. They both thought the other was attractive, at first they hated each other. Both for the person they thought the other was. That’s what kept me continuing to read this one, they took the time to get to know each other. Although there were times that Oz bothered me so much because he had such blind hate for Emily, I mean I know why he hated her, because there were a these lies that Eli had fed to everyone about Emily and her mom. So it was easy to see the hate but I felt like he held on to hard to it. I guess they both did though. Although I have to say I did like Oz. I don’t swoon over boys in books but I did like Oz a lot. I thought the ending was really predictable, I heard a lot of people say they didn’t see the ending coming but I felt like it was easy to call. I’m not going to say anything because I don’t want to ruin it for any one else, because while it was predictable it was still a great ending!

Overall this book was quite good. I never ended up reading any of the other books in the pushing the limit series, but I really can’t wait to read the rest of these. There are going to be 4 books total in this series. If you like motorcycle clubs and romance and tough boys who are loyal to those they love, than you will most certainly like this one.

Amazon B&NBook Depository

Leave a Reply

