YALLWEST Day 1 and 2

YALLWEST

A month ago I decided to attend YALLWEST, the sister festival to YALLFEST, it took place April 11 & 12 at Santa Monica High School and Santa Monica Public library. My sister and I rented a car and drove down both days to see all these amazing authors and get some cool prizes and awesome ARCS. I saw 17 authors between the two days, I got to meet Margot from Epic Reads, and got to talk to some fellow book lovers! It was crazy fun time and I am burnt to a crisp from being in the sun all day Saturday and Sunday! I wanted to share my experience and all the fun I had at YALLWEST!

SATURDAY:

We got there at about 10 and immediately went to the Barnes and Noble sales booth. I quickly picked up Magonia (I was so happy they had it there and let me tell you that the hardcover is AHHHHMAZING). Then we headed over to the EpicReads booth and we were so close to getting in to the spin to win line but they cut it off right as we got there! Luckily they were doing another one at 4. In the mean time we made our way to the lines for book signings, which is basically what we did the whole day, but it was worth it.

  • 11-12 was Marie Lu.
  • 12-1 was Shannon Hale and Stephanie Perkins
  • 1-2 was Morgan Rhodes
  • 2-3 was Libba Bray and Danielle Paige and Andrea Cremer
  • 3-4 was Epic Reads spin to win
  • 4-5 was Victoria Aveyard

Honestly it was so amazing I got to meet Morgan Rhodes and Danielle Paige! Which was so exciting because I absolutely love Falling Kingdoms and Dorothy Must Die series. I also got some cool bookmarks, a cool Falling Kingdoms and a Red Queen poster. I played spin to win at the Epic Reads table and of course my sister and I both won An Encore to an Empty Room.

But what is Morgan doing because I just found out that there is going to be 6 books in the series, I seriously didn’t know that! I mean jeez just take my money and kill me waiting till 2016 to see how it all ends!

img_2539 img_2537 img_2540 img_2543 img_2553 img_2558 img_2554 img_2555 img_2556 img_2557 img_2559 img_2564

I didn’t take any pictures but after we finished the signings we went over and joined Random House for Cupcake Hour with Nicole Yoon, E. Lockhart & Jennifer Nivan. The cupcakes were really yummy! Plus they were giving away shirts with book quotes or ARCs. I tried to get Everything Everything by Nicole Yoon but by the time I got to the table they were out but I was able to get Reawakened by Colleen Houck! On to day 2!

SUNDAY:

Sunday was definitely more relaxed! We got there at 9:40ish and stood in line to get in because it wouldn’t technically open until 11. There was a booth set up that had a bunch of shirts with book quotes and ARCs. Then we made our way over to the Barnes and Noble sales booth and then over to the Epic Reads line to get the Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider singed and then get back in to line for the spin to win, where I won The Good Girls by Sara Shepard ARC. We got a lot of really cool swag. Some bookmarks, buttons, a Fierce Reads water bottle, and some glow sticks (which we gave to my brother). Now for some pictures!

img_2560 img_2563 img_2561 img_2562

It was so awesome meeting all these amazing authors! I saw Robin Benway and asked her for the ARC of Emmy & Oliver but she had already given it away. The thing that made me sad was that the signings were so rushed I couldn’t get a picture with a lot of these authors and we couldn’t really talk to them either. I’m super excited for the buttons I got! I just need somewhere to put them. I also am super bummed because Sara Raasch was going to be there but she was sick! But I will eventually meet her!

So that was my weekend! It was really fun and I got to do a lot of cool things! I want to know if you guys have ever been to a book festival or are you planning on attending one? What was your experience like? Who was one of your favorite authors to meet and if you haven’t met any who would you love to meet?

Leave a Reply

