Book Review: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

81MWoWys6nL The Wrath and The Dawn

Author: Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and The Dawn #1

Release Date: May 12th, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Publisher: Putnam

Summary: Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch… she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

My Review: This story was inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, which I have never read, but from this book I would definitely want to check out. Renee is such an amazing story teller. Shahrzad was an amazing MC. She was brave, and snarky, and had a mouth on her that I loved. But her reactions and remarks were never over the top. She struggled hard to do what she thought was right by everyone in her life. Her best friend Shiva, her childhood love Tariq, and her father Jahandar. Instead of listening to her heart she listens to her head. The image Shazi has of Khalid gets altered a little bit each day of her survival. Making her think there’s more to Khalid than anyone knows. From the very start of this book I wanted Shazi and Khalid to fall in love! But I love that it was a slow time coming. It wasn’t insta-love and it wasn’t oh you saved my life I love you now. It took time and trust between both Shazi and Khalid, to build an already unsteady relationship stronger. The one character I had really no love for was Tariq. Maybe just because he was trying to stand in the way of Shazi and Khalid but also because I felt like he never listened to her. He assumed he knew what was best and didn’t bother to find out how she felt. He made comments about how Khalid only treated Shazi as an object but when I read it I felt it was Tariq who treated her as an object and Khalid who treated her as an equal. I felt more love between Khalid and Shazi then I did with her and Tariq. Definitely shipping Khalid and Shazi!

Despina! I love love loved Despina! I thought she was funny and bold and brave and I liked her firey attitude! She definitely wasn’t afraid to stand up to Shazi and she definitely called her out on some of her sh*it. I honestly thought both Shazi and Despina were the greatest characters. But sometimes the side characters are just so much better than the MC. I thought every character was really well written and the characters were well developed.

For me this book started off pretty slow. Like I said before it is an amazing book, so it was surprising that it took me awhile to get into it, but when it got going I just couldn’t put it down. It’s a story rife with mystery and intrigue, and will keep you turning the pages. It’s also filled with some amazingly insightful quotes. These are taken from the ARC so they may be different in the finished book, but I wanted to share some of these quotes with you guys.

Musa-effendi… I feel certain you should not hold yourself responsible for anything that transpired, not that night or any of the nights after. I am young, and, therefore, I know my words only carry a certain weight with the world, but I do know enough to realize you cannot control the actions of others. You can only control what you do with yourself afterwards.” -Shahrzad, (pg. 137)

Like cool water sliding down her parched throat. Like the promise of all her tomorrows in a single sigh.” -Shahrzad (pg. 167)

Strong enough to take on the world with our bare hands, yet we permit ridiculous boys to make fools of us.” -Shahrzad (pg. 208)

I suspect she will be life air. Like knowing how to breathe.” –Shahrzad (pg. 224)

The ending was just uhhh what… I don’t even know how to react to that ending. I just need the next book right now and I’m not sure if I can wait any longer for the sequel. Overall I seriously seriously recommend buying this book, it was that good! You are going to want it on your shelves!

Leave a Reply

