Jem and the Holograms… Movie vs Comic

Jem-and-The-Holograms-7 2455_D018_00918R_CROP

So last night I watched the Jem and the Holograms trailer and while I’m excited I’m also slightly disappointed. Now I never watched Jem growing up but I have watched it on Netflix and so when I heard that they were making a movie I was really excited! The series revolves around Jerrica Benton AKA Jem, who is the owner and manager of Starlight Music and runs the Starlight foundation, which she got after the sudden death of her father. Now Jerrica’s father built a computer known as Synergy which helps Jerrica become Jem by projecting a holographic image over her, controlled by Jem’s earrings. They also allow her the ability to project holograms around her so she can avoid danger (because yeah along with owning and running her own business she fights bad guys!) and provide effects for the performances of her group.

Now the movie seems to follow the same outline for the band, which is made up of Jem, her younger sister Kimber who is the keyboardist and main songwriter, Aja who is the guitarist, and Shana who plays synth drums. Aja and Shana (in both movie and tv show) are adopted foster sisters of Jerrica and Kimber. But that’s all that really stays true to the tv show. Where the rest seems to have just been thrown out. Now the TV series takes place in the 80s. So not only do you have great 80s songs you have 80s hair, clothes and dance moves! The movie though takes place in modern day and seems to be a coming of age story. It follows Jerrica who looks to be in her teens. Who after her sister sneakily puts a video of Jerrica on Youtube gets an offer from Starlight records to sign with them. Where they then create the persona Jem and change Jerrica’s whole look. The record producer then proceeds to convince Jerrica that she needs to be a solo act and the band gets in to a fight. I mean that isn’t even the Jem we’ve all come to know and love. She would never have let something come in between her and her family!

I don’t like that movie producers decide that for whatever the story line for the TV show wasn’t believable or wasn’t a good enough story or they needed to “update” it. TV Jem is badass. She was strong and powerful, she definitely wasn’t afraid of starting a band, but in the movie she hides in a closet and doesn’t plan on ever starting a band. I mean TV Jem runs a record company and a foundation, like yes please to all the amazingness that woman can do. And yet they decided to go a different way? Like I don’t get it. I think this could have been such a great movie. I mean it’s not like there isn’t a huge fan base for Jem. I have heard that the original creator of Jem was shut out of the making of this movie, which kinda makes me more upset! Jem wasn’t intentionally a feminist icon but became that way and in a world where feminism is regarded as something evil and to be ashamed of, it would have been nice to see the movie follow with a strong female lead who doesn’t give up or give in.

Now I never watched it growing up, so I am not a die hard fan but I have been watching it on Netflix and was so excited to hear that it was becoming a movie, and while I am not as upset as some of the older fans, I still am disappointed. They could have done great things with this movie.

Here is the trailer for those of you who haven’t seen it…

Leave a Reply

