Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824 A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Trilogy

Rating: 5 Stars

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children

Summary: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immotal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin -and his world-forever.

My Review:

I can’t tell you how great this book is. This book is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, which if you know me you know how much I love Beauty and the Beast. The hype of this book before it even came out was so crazy and so I was so scared that it wouldn’t be that good and I would be greatly disappointed. But I can safely say it lived up to its hype and I am so glad for that fact. This review will definitely be me just flailing, so I am sorry for that! This is the first Sarah book that I have read and it’s definitely made me a fan.

I absolutely loved Feyre and Tamlin! This story follows Feyre, who hunts in the forest behind her house to get food to provide for her family. When Feyre kills a wolf in the woods she must forfeit her life and live with Tamlin, on his estate for the rest of her life. Feyre is such a fantastic character. She’s smart, witty, and strong. She doesn’t take crap from anyone and I really like that about her and she’s not afraid to fight. Another thing that I love is that she became a hunter because of necessity, but she never liked doing it. She was never meant to be a hunter. She doesn’t like killing things. When she goes to live with Tamlin, Feyre is finally able to focus doing things she loves. The chemistry between Tamiln and Feyre is amazing. Like I just kept waiting for them to kiss. Like the whole time in my head it’s, ‘kiss kiss kiss kiss’ ‘oh they didn’t kiss…’ And then they finally do kiss and it’s magic. And that scene. You know the one where Tamlin bites Feyre! Man was that steamy especially for a YA novel. Although I have noticed more and more YA authors are adding steamy scenes in to their books and I love it because I always found it funny that authors skipped the steamy scenes! I love Tamlin! I thought he was a great character. He was broody but not annoying broody but more like dreamy broody. He didn’t make me want to smack him in the face. The way he was so protective of Feyre was so cute and amazing. These two went from being cute to steamy in like .5 seconds! It was crazy how fast things got crazy! And Lucien was just the best balance to Tamlin.

Now the curse… I knew going in I knew there was going to be a curse but I wasn’t sure how Sarah would pull it off. I’ve read quite a few Beauty and the Beast retellings and the curse is always weird or strange or they don’t pull it off. I thought Sarah pulled off the curse very well. I had no idea what to expect and it wasn’t predictable in the slightest. I’m not going to give away the curse because I want you guys to be just as surprised as I was by how everything turns out. But I just wanted to point out that I loved how the curse was done.

Now I’ve seen a few reviews talking about how there is a love triangle. Now in the book there is hinting at a love triangle, nothing happened in the first book, but there are three! So there is the possibility that it could happen. I’m hoping not because I liked Rhys and I also didn’t. I definitely think I will grow to like him more in the second one though because that is always what happens. I just really hope it’s not a triangle because Tamlin is so perfect for Feyre. They just work together and I really hope Sarah doesn’t throw that in. I just hope they become really really good friends. I hate that I have to wait another year until the second one comes out but there are a lot of good books coming out in between that.

If you haven’t read this yet or your scared of the hype don’t be! It is definitely an amazing read and I couldn’t put it down. Although I had to because my family and I went out to celebrate mother’s day. But this one definitely gets 5 stars from me and I am really looking forward to the next one. In the mean time I will most certainly be reading Sarah’s other books!

Definitely recommend this one to anyone who hasn’t read it yet!

Leave a Reply

