Book Review: A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

spirits-and-thieves A Book of Spirits and Thieves

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Trilogy

Rating: 5 Stars

Publisher: Razorbill

Summary: Crystal Hatcher, Modern-day Toronto: It’s a normal afternoon in her father’s antique bookshop when Crys witnesses the unthinkable: her little sister Becca collapses into a coma after becoming mesmerized by mysterious book written in an unrecognizable language.

Maddox Corso, Ancient Mytica: Maddox Corso doesn’t think much of it when he spots an unfamiliar girl in his small village. Until, that is, he realizes that she is a spirit, and he is the only one who can see or hear her. Her name is Becca Hatcher, and she needs Maddox to help her get home.

Farrell Grayson, Modern-day Toronto: Rich and aimless Farrell Grayson is thrilled when the mysterious leader of the ultra-secret Hawkspeare Society invites him into the fold. But when he learns exactly what he has to do to prove himself, Farrell starts to question everything he thought he knew about family, loyalty, and himself…

Fate has brought these young people together, but acient magic threatens to rim them apart.

My Review:

*I got a copy of this book for free from First to Read in exchange for an honest review*

I fell in love with Morgan after reading Falling Kingdoms and I recently had the privilege of meeting her at YALLWEST. It was such an awesome experience. She was so lovely and nice. I got to tell her how much I love her series, get my books personalized, get a picture with her (because she was nice enough to stop and take pictures with everyone who wanted one), get a pin, and a poster. While we were talking she pointed out that the series is going to be 6 books long! I had no idea that there were going to be so many books and I can’t believe I have to wait. But the good thing is that Morgan is writing another series at the same time! A spin off of Falling Kingdoms that will tell the story of Mytica before it became the Mytica that we know and love in the Falling Kingdoms series.

I am honestly so excited for this series and getting the chance to read this before it comes out is just amazing! I have wanted to know what happened to the Goddesses Valoria and Cleonia! If they were the Goddesses that everyone worshiped or not? I am so glad I am getting the answer to these questions! The book takes place half in Mytica and half in modern-day Toronto. It is told in three different POV, which for some can be very off putting but for me I love. I love getting inside the minds of different characters and three was a good amount of characters to go with. It wasn’t overwhelming or to hard to follow.

This book starts out slow but those last half of the book was just so amazing that you can’t stop. Which is usually how I find Morgan’s books. There are so many twists and turns and you’re never quite sure if anyone is safe or how it’s going to all tie together. The book follows Crys who is a normal girl who works at her families book shop (hello dream job). Becca, Cry’s younger sister, Maddox a mysterious boy who has the power to summon the dead and Farrell a rich boy who is used to getting what he wants when he wants it. The different voices is something that Morgan does well. She brings these characters to life and makes you care for them even if you wish you didn’t.

Crys and Becca are amazing characters. They fight like sisters do but at the end of the day they have such a deep bond they would do anything to protect each other. When Becca touches a magical book, that their adventurous Aunt Jackie sent, and gets sucked in to a parallel universe, Crys will let nothing stand in her way of finding out the truth about this book, the magic behind it, and the man who wants it. Leading her to deal with some very dangerous people. The mystery behind the book and the man are what suck you in and keep that page turning. Reading this all I wanted to know was who was Markus. Where did he come from? Why does he want this book? The way that Morgan weaves this story, how everything fits together and how characters are all linked to one another is amazing. The ending was all to good and now I am patiently (but not really) waiting for the second book in this series. And that ending was not exactly a cliffhanger but it definitely makes me want to continue with the series. I need to know what happens. I need to find out if my theories about Markus and Becca are true. I need to know if Becca and Maddox ever get the chance to see each other again. And I need to know if Ferrall will get out from under Markus and make up with Crys. I NEED TO KNOW!

This book most definitely lived up to the amazingness that is Morgan and she has quickly become one of my favorite authors. Her stories are filled with magic, loyalty, love and crazy people. But it is all in the best way possible and getting two doses of Mytica a year is definitely okay with me.

I’m giving this book 5 stars because um how could you not! I can’t wait till Frozen Tides comes out the 4th book in the Falling Kingdoms series and the second book in the Book of Spirits and Thieves comes out (which won’t be till next year :/) but I can wait!

Leave a Reply

