Books For Trade

Books For Trade Q

So I’m sure the rest of you have seen the hashtag that’s been going around Twitter. If you haven’t you are seriously missing out! Basically it is a place to trade books you don’t want for books you do. I was able to complete my Raven Boys collection! 

11380867_1452436888410577_415354274_n Look how pretty! I have met some really nice people and unfortunately I have only met one shady person. I’m still on the lookout for Cinder and Scarlet ARCs but that is not the point of this post. The point of this post is to talk about a few issues I’ve seen people ask on twitter and some that I am particularly curious about.

  1. Trading ARCs for finished copies: I’ve seen older and newer ARCs being traded for finished copies. Now I don’t see anything wrong with trading older ARCs for FCs. I figure it like this, when I find an older ARC it’s to finish my collection of a book I already bought. So trading for a finished copy for an older ARC it doesn’t bother me. But I’ve seen people trading unreleased ARCs for FC. For me I don’t feel comfortable doing that. I feel like in a kind of round about way that it’s technically like buying an ARC. Now I know there are people that don’t feel this way and there is quite a few people who don’t care. I guess my question is how do you guys feel about this? Do you agree that it’s not okay or are you okay with trading ARCs for FCs?
  2. Trading etiquette. When I post a photo of books on twitter, I typically go first come first serve. The first person to tweet for a book I will deal with, if we can’t come to a trade then I go to the next person. I’ve seen a lot of people work their trades this way, but there are some that will take the best offer regardless of if they have seen what any one else has traded. Or I’ve seen some of them ignore tweets. How do you guys deal with trades. Do you work through, first come first serve or do you go with the best offer regardless of who tweeted first.

So far that was the questions I really had about books for trade. Just a couple things I was curious about really. I wanted to know your guys opinion. So let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

