ARC Review: Legacy of Kings

tumblr_nkrcp9HwHC1qdlytco1_540 Legacy of Kings

Author: Eleanor Herman

Series

Release Date: August 25th, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Summary: Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise. 

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to newcomer Katerina, who must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But Kat’s first love, Jacob, will go to unthinkable lengths to win her, even if it means competing for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince. And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet fiancee, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters. 

My Review:

I was so excited that I was able to get my hands on this book! I had been dying to read it since it was announced. For anyone who knows me, they know how much I absolutely love fantasy. So this book was right up my alley and guys it really was soooo good. I loved everything about it and will definitely be buying it when it comes out. This book is told from multiple POVs. Which sometimes can get frustrating but I thought Eleanor pulled off well in this book. There is Kat, Alexander, Hephaestion, Jacob, Cynane, and Zofia. Six different points of view and all extremely interesting. Kat, Alexander and Hephaestion were my favorites. They were all so badass in their own way. Kat was stubborn and fierce and wouldn’t stop at anything to accomplish her mission. She was orphaned at a young age and taken in by Jacob. Alexander heir to Macedonia was still awesome. I loved that he wasn’t a dick. He was a nice guy who wasn’t sure he could rule Macedonia. As the book continues it’s learned that he and Kat have these sort of magical powers. You’re not sure what they can really do and where they came from just that they were both born with them. Hephaestion was fantastic, although there is a part where he acts like a dumbass but as soon as that’s over you can’t help but fall in love with him. He is fiercely loyal to Alexander and is his best friend. AND HE AND KAT SHOULD BE TOGETHER. *cough cough*. Excuse me I had a bad cough there. When the book starts you learn that Jacob has been in love with Kat for a long time. He even asks her to marry him, which doesn’t end well because of miscommunication. I absolutely hated Jacob. In the beginning I was like awww he’s so cute and I love him and Kat. But he just gets worse and worse as the story progresses. To me, he was just a whiny baby who couldn’t handle being told no. So after he thinks Kat is denying him and would rather be with the prince he goes and joins this secret society (stupid move Jacob). Especially since this group is set up to destroy all elements of magic. Which if he payed attention he would know that Kat has magic, and his little group is sent out to kill her. He’s just an idiot and I really don’t like him at all. Now Cynane is a character I did and didn’t like. She was manipulative and horrible to Hephaestion, and she used his doubts against him, but she was also sorta badass and didn’t wait around to marry some man. She fought and she schemed and she didn’t wait around for someone to save her. Which is why I have a sort of love/hate relationship with her. After what happened I really want to see what she does and what Alexander does! Zofia is a hard character to write about just because I felt like she wasn’t really a part of the book. She was kinda just an after thought. She didn’t have a lot of story time and maybe that will change in the next book. Which I hope it does because I want to see more of her.

The story was really good and it moved pretty fast but it was a bit predictable at times. All that aside I thought this was definitely a really interesting story one that I will be adding to my collection. I heard that this was kind of based on Alexander the Great, not sure if that’s true but it’s awesome to see. I love stories that are based a bit in truth. Or stories that take real people and write stories about them. I always find them extremely interesting. I will repeat that it is a bit predictable, so just be warned, but all that aside it still is a great story! And while I did give it 5 stars, I have to say that it is not the best fantasy book out there it was pretty great. I can not wait for the next book. It makes me angry that I will have to wait a year just to find out what happens.

Leave a Reply

