Top Ten Tuesday: Fairytales I’ve read/want to read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week is broken in to two categories, favorite fairytale retellings and fairytale retellings that are on our TBR. Here are my choices!

Favorite fairytale retellings:

  1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer: Seems like I’ve been talking about Marissa a lot lately.. But all with good reason! Her books are amazing.
  2. Cruel Beauty by Rosemund Hodge: Honestly I loved this book so much! It’s a retelling of Beauty and the Beast which is one of my favorites, but it’s got some mythology thrown in and it’s just an amazingly done retelling!
  3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: Honestly this is the first book I read of hers (now before you yell at me, I am currently reading Throne of Glass series) but I really love her characters and her writing style!
  4.  Splintered by A.G. Howard: I loved this dark twist on Alice in Wonderland! I have to say I am not a fan of Alice, but with books like this and the Alice mini-series, I’m starting to like Alice a lot more.
  5. Enslave by Cathy Yargley: This is not in any way shape or form a YA book! This is an adult retelling of Beauty and the Beast, but it is one I couldn’t leave off my list!
  6. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige: This is another one I am not a fan of the original but the dark retelling is really intriguing to me!
  7. Abandon by Meg Cabot: I absolutely love mythology! Especially Hades and Persephone!

Fairytale books on my TBR:

  1. Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell: This is another retelling of Cinderella but the cover of it looks simply amazing! I can’t wait till it come out later this month!
  2. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury: This one is about Aladdin and a jinni named Zahra! I am super excited and this is another one where the cover is absolutely beautiful!
  3. Winter by Marissa Meyer: This book just need to be in my hands as of right now! I can’t wait to find out what happens!

That is my list! Honestly I couldn’t have done a lot more than 10! I really love fairytales! I love different takes or authors that add things to the story that no other author has done before! But you guys should join in!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fairytales I’ve read/want to read

  1. I have to agree – I could have done something more as i decided to bundle up The Lunar Chronicles.. But – yea! Love fairytales, and this topic just makes me want to read even more of them, and in the original forms aswell!

    Like

  2. Oooh, I can’t believe I forgot to add Abandon to my list! I love all of Meg Cabot’s work but her vampire books so it should have been there. 😦 The Lunar Chronicles is def one of my favorite series at the moment – and Winter is my most awaited book of this year. Dorothy Must Die was really awesome which surprised me because – like you – I’m not a fan of the original tale. I can’t wait to finally get Mechanica! That sounds soo good and the cover is absolutely gorgeous.
    Lovely list!
    Veronika @ TTT

    Like

    • Right! I love that series and Meg! Same! I am currently on the hunt for arcs of Cinder and Scarlet (I’m holding out hope that I can find them) and I need Winter in my hands right now! I know I love all these authors who are doing retellings!

      Like

  3. I keep seeing the Lunar Chronicles, but i am just so unsure if they are just hyped or really good.
    I also have ACOTAR on my list. And you gave me a few ideas for other books as well, so thanks for those 🙂
    Great list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

