Book Review: Nevermore by Kelly Creagh

7129598 Title: Nevermore

Author: Kelly Creagh

Publication date: August 31, 2010

Summary: Cheerleader Isobel Lanley is horrified when she is paired with Varen Nethers for an English project, which is due-so unfair-on the day of the rival game. Cold and aloof, sardonic and sharp-tongued, Varen makes it clear he’d rather not have anything to do with her either. But when Isobel discovers strange writing in his journal, she can’t help but give this enigmatic boy with piercing eyes another look.

Soon, Isobel finds herself making excuses to be with Varen. Steadily pulled away from her friends and he possessive boyfriend, Isobel ventures deeper and deeper into the dream world Varen had created through the pages of his notebook, a realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life.

As her world begins to unravel around her, Isobel discovers that dreams, like words, hold more power than she ever imagined, and that the most frightening realities are those of the mind. Now she must find a way to reach Varen before he is consumed by the shadows of his own nightmares. 

His life depends on it. 

My Thoughts:

This will actually be my third time reading this book. I have reread this one quite a few times and the third one is FINALLY out and I can see how it all ends! I absolutely love Kelly and her writing style. I think the world that she has brought to life in Nevermore was just amazing. It was so thought out and made me feel like I was right there in the book. Not to mention the characters and the relationships surrounding both Isobel and Varen. To me none of them felt one dimensional. Honestly Isobel is one of my favorite characters in YA. I absolutely love her. Sometimes stories like this make me so mad because the minute they find the boy they become hopeless and emotional, but that wasn’t the case with her at all. She is such a strong character, and there is a part where she does get a bit mopey but I thought it added so much to her appeal. Now I have to admit one story trope I will never really get sick of is the bad boy/good girl. I think it’s one of my favorites, but it has to be done right and I think that Kelly gets it right. Now Varen.. Where to even begin with him. I pretty much loved all the characters in this book except for Brad. But Varen is another one I love. I did find that he wasn’t really in the book a whole lot but the moments when he and Isobel interact where some of my favorites. I love that he wanted to protect her. One thing I also really loved is the fact that Isobel is a cheerleader, but she wasn’t just in it because it’s the only thing to do, but she actually enjoys it. She does it because she has a love for the sport and it was such a small thing but I think it really added to her character.

I really do love this book. I just think it was really well done. The way Kelly entwines Poe’s stories in to her own is just amazing. The world! I mean I really wish this would be made in to a movie so that I could see the scene where Isobel is brought in to the world of Poe’s Masque of the Red Death story. That would be amazing. That scene is just so well done and creepy and I would love to actually see it in real life. Honestly Kelly is just so amazing at writing a world that makes you feel as if you’ve been transported there. I love the time and the effort she has put in to each character. The way she has built the relationships around Varen and Isobel was just so well done. I loved the how different Isobel and Varen’s parents were. Overall I just thought this was such a great story, and I have already read the second one (i’m rereading it now) but I think it is just as good and I need to hurry up and read the third one. I highly suggest that you guys pick this one up. If you like creepy, crazy worlds, with an awesome female lead read this one! I love it and I think you guys would as well! I gave this one five stars.

Leave a Reply

