Book Review: Enshadowed by Kelly Creagh

1346273857Enshadowedcover Title: Enshadowed

Author: Kelly Creagh

Book 2 in the Nevermore trilogy

Publication date: August 29, 2012

Publisher: Atheneum

Rating: 5 Stars

AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS

Summary: Varen Nethers is trapped in a perilous dreamworld-a treacherous and desolate realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life. Isobel Lanley, plagued by strange visions and haunted by the nightmares of Varen’s creation, is the only one who can save him. 

Isobel knows that her only hope lies withing a Baltimore cemetery. There, in the early morning of Edgar Allan Poe’s birthday, a mysterious stranger known as the “Poe Toaster” will make his annual homage at the legendary poet’s grave. 

Only the Poe Toaster holds the key to the way between worlds, but great dangers lie ahead for Isobel. An ancient evil, draped in veils of white, is watching, challenging her for Varen’s affections. When Isobel finally finds Varen, he is no longer the quiet and brooding boy who once captivated her, but a dark force, powerful and malevolent. Could Isobel’s greatest love also be her greatest adversary?

My review:

Guys I love this series so so so much. Like I don’t even think you realize how much I love it. This is probably going to be a short review because if it’s not I will ramble on for hours. So let me just tell you how great this series is. I think it is one of my favorite series in YA. I’ve already finished the third one and it was so good, expect a review on that one as well, because I must talk about these books. Let’s just start with where we left off. Isobel has made it back from the dreamworld, severing the link between the two and thinking that Varen is home safe and sound. Only to realize that Reynolds has lied to her and Varen is still trapped in the dreamworld. After learning that he is still stuck Isobel kind of shuts down, but let me tell you I did not hate it. Yes she shut down but after having Gewn basically tell her to get her shit together, she does and she comes up with a plan to get back to Varen. That’s what I loved about these books, Isobel was a preppy, loves pink cheerleader, but she also took no shit. She didn’t wait around for someone to come along and save the day or figure out a way back to Varen, she does that herself. Not to mention that she has Gwen. Gwen is one of my favorite sidekicks. She doesn’t bail the minute Isobel shuts down, nor does she question Isobel’s love for Varen. Although she tries to talk her out of stupid decisions. Which is another thing I liked, Isobel didn’t make that many stupid decisions or really any. Yes she kept disappearing on her family, but she does it for a good reason. I mean what better reason than love? The way she fights and doesn’t give up for Varen, I just love it. I love that she refuses. That she tries so hard to get back to him. I love the relationships in this book so much. They don’t feel fake, they feel very real to me. I love how Kelly brought these characters to life for me. They very much felt real and I felt like I was a part of their world.

And let me just tell you about that world that Kelly creates… It’s AMAZING! It’s so intricate and beautiful but it never felt like to much. There was so much thought and detail put in to this book. The scenes in the dreamworld were amazing. They felt so life-like, I could have sworn I was right there in the scene. This is honestly a series I wish didn’t have to end but I am glad that it did. It was such a great series and to be there from the very beginning was awesome. I know that some people have a problem with the length, and I have to say it was a bit long but I didn’t mind with these books. Especially since the series gets smaller each book, and normally I don’t like so much detail just because sometimes the story gets lost in it, but I didn’t have that problem with this series. I don’t know if I am adequately explaining how great I find this series, but if I can leave you with one thought it would be that this is a series worth reading. It has all those amazing elements you love in YA (at least it does for me). It’s just something that I really loved and I think you will too.

I cannot wait to see what is next for Kelly! She has definitely gained a life time fan!

Leave a Reply

