Book Review: Oblivion by Kelly Creagh

9755769 Title: Oblivion

Author: Kelly Creagh

Book 3 in the Nevermore triliogy

Publication date: July 28, 2015

Publisher: Atheneum

Rating: 5 Stars

AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS

Summary: This electrifying conclusion to the Nevermore trilogy takes one last trip to the dream world of Edgar Allan Poe to reveal the intertwined fates of Isobel and Varen

The boundaries which divide Life from Death are at best shadowy and vague. Who shall say where the one ends, and where the other begins?- Edgar Allan Poe

The fine line between life and death blurred long ago for Isobel Lanley. After a deadly confrontation with Varen in the dreamworld, she’s terrified to return to that desolate and dangerous place. But when her nightmares resume, bleeding into reality, she is left with no choice. Varen’s darkness is catching up to her. To everything. Threatening to devour it all.

Isobel fears for her world. For her sanity and Varen’s-especially after a fresh and devastating loss. To make matters worse, the ghostly demon Lilith wants Varen for her own, and she will do anything to keep him in her grasp-anything.

Can Isobel ever find her happy ending? Worlds collide and fates are sealed in this breathtaking finale to the Nevermore trilogy. 

My Review:

Okay so if you read my reviews for the first two in this series, you know how excited I was for this book and how long I have been waiting! And guys let me just say it was well worth the wait. This book was just amazing! If you haven’t read this series or just haven’t read the second one I will try to keep this review as spoiler free as possible. That being said I am going to talk about where we left off in book two. The ending of book two Isobel had finally gotten back to the dreamworld and is looking for Varen. After finally finding him, she tries to talk him in to coming back, and at first she thinks he’s listening, but after he gets close he whispers “You think you’re different, but you’re not, you, are just like every. Body. Else.” and then he pushes her off the edge of a cliff! Isobel then wakes up in a hospital and realizes that she failed and that’s where we pick up book 3. Isobel has lied and told everyone she doesn’t know what happened, her parents are going crazy trying to figure out what is going on with their daughter and Isobel is trying to not be terrified of Varen and the dream world. Phew! Okay so that is where the third book starts and let me just say WOW! I mean this book is so action packed. If you thought the first one was slow just wait, this one is like BOOM. POW. Like in your face, one thing after the other. It’s crazy.

Isobel, like I said, is afraid of the dreamworld and of Varen, because well he pushed her off a cliff. But she still wants to save him and she still loves him. In typical Kelly fashion there is quite a bit of detail but like I have said before I think it really just adds to the story. I feel like you get such a better sense of these characters. And while yes the focus of this story is on Isobel and Varen and them being in love with each other, no character gets left out. You get so much Gwen and I love it because like I said Gwen is one of my favorites, she doesn’t bail she sticks by Isobel, through all her crazy antics. She also isn’t afraid to tackle some guy and get hurt herself, for Isobel.

In Oblivion we start to see a lot more of the dreamworld. Which I love because I think the dreamworld that Kelly created is such an amazingly interesting place to read about. It was so crazy and the way Isobel is able to manipulate things was really awesome. I think one character I should have mentioned before was Pinfeathers! I love Pin. He was creepy, but he had a soft spot for Isobel and I that just made me absolutely love him. He wasn’t a good guy but he protected Isobel and fought for her when she needed it. Not that she couldn’t handle herself. Which is another thing I have to mention! Isobel and Gwen are badass, and not in the I can kick your ass, because I can fight but in the I am a woman and I still will fight for the people I love. They both are so different but they both are willing to fight for what they care about. For Isobel it’s her family and Gwen and Varen (mostly him), and for Gwen it’s Isobel.

And let’s just talk about that ending. I said earlier that I would try and not make it spoilery, and hopefully I am making it more interesting, to where you want to read it rather than being spoiled by it and not wanting to read it at all. But this series was amazing. I thought it was funny and amazing. It just tied everything up so neatly and the finale scene between Isobel and Reynolds was ahhhhmazing! It made me tear up. I just have to say if Kelly continues to write stories like this (say even a quick novella in Varen’s POV from his time in the dreamworld) I will read it. She is definitely on my auto-buy author list!

Guys this series is so amazing! It’s funny and cute and creepy and cool and interesting. There isn’t a whole lot I don’t love about this book. One side note though I definitely didn’t think Brad would have been written out like that. I at least thought because of his time in the dreamworld he would have been an ally to Isobel. But oh well! I still loved this series. I do think it’s worth the read especially if you like Edgar Allan Poe. The way she fits his stories and poems together to tie in to her book was just so amazing. I can’t explain enough how much I loved all three of these books. They were just so well done and fun. They’re a really quick read. I read all of these so quickly, especially that last one! But I highly suggest picking these up if you haven’t or finishing the series if you have.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

