Book Review: The Wee Free Men

512-dTJt3AL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_ Title: The Wee Free Men

Author: Terry Pratchett

Discworld #30, Tiffany Aching #1

Date Published: 2004

Publisher: HarperTrophy

Rating: 5 Stars

AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS
Summary: “Another world is colliding with this one,” said the toad. ” All the monsters are coming back.”

“Why?” said Tiffany.

“There’s no one to stop them.”

There was silence for a moment.

Then Tiffany said, “There’s me.”

Armed only with a frying pan and her common sense, Tiffany Aching, a young witch-to-be, is all that stands between the monsters of Fairyland and the warm, green Chalk country that is her home. Forced into Fairyland to seek her Kidnapped brother, Tiffany allies herself with the Chalk’s local Nac Mac Feegle – aka the Wee Free Men – a clan of sheep-stealing, sword-wielding, six-inch-high blue men who are as fierce as they are funny. Together they battle through an eerie and ever-shifting landscape, fighting brutal flying fairies, dream-spinning dromes, and grimhounds – black dogs with eyes of fire and teeth of razors – before ultimately confronting the Queen of the Elves, absolute ruler of a world in which reality intertwines with nightmare. And in the final showdown, Tiffany must face her cruel power alone… 

My Review:

To be perfectly honest this was purely a cover/back blurb buy for me! That cover is amazing, and the back blurb says, ” What’s not to love about a girl who takes on vicious monsters armed with only a frying pan?” -Publishers Weekly. I mean seriously that just sucked me in and made me want to read this story so badly. Not to mention I have heard really good things about Terry Pratchett. I am just immensely glad I picked up this book, because it had me flipping the pages like nobodies business!

Needless to say I loved this story! It was so weird and not really something I had ever read before but something I enjoyed oh so much. This book follows Tiffany a young girl (you really don’t learn her age until like the last chapter of this book) who wants to be a witch despite the fact that the Baron of the land hates witches. Tiffany’s adventure begins when her brother gets kidnapped by the Queen of Fairyland. Which is not the Fairyland you would imagine as a child nor want to visit. It’s really dark and twisted and you can get trapped in dreams and die in them. Overall very creepy, but I loved the creep factor. Although as creepy as that sounds the narrator was so brave that you really didn’t mind the creepyness of the book. It went a bit up and down, which was different from most books, it started out slow, and then there was some action, and then it calmed down, and then there was more action. Not that it bothered me it was just a fun read and the characters were such an amazing array of characters. The Wee Free Men cracked me up. They were so fierce and protective of their Kelda and I just loved reading about them and their rambunctious ways!

Now Tiffany was amazing. She was funny and smart and witty and sassy and brave. Just all out brave. I mean she wasn’t afraid to run head first in to danger for her little brother. Nor was she afraid of the Wee Free Men, she actually got them to behave for a little while at least. She is definitely a favorite character of mine. She just has that quality that makes you like her. She wasn’t annoying in any way and I actually felt quite connected to her as a character (I for sure wanted to be a witch when I was a kid… Maybe even a bit as an adult). She just was such a refreshing character in a world of the same cookie-cutter YA heroines.

There are about 5 books total in the Tiffany Aching series and I really want to get my hands on them. They are such quick, fun reads. They’re those type of books that just has a little something for everyone. This is definitely a book I recommend to pretty much everyone. Seriously if you ever take any of my suggestions go read this book (and maybe Six of Crows). It really is a great story. I do know this is part of a bigger series called the Discworld series. Which has like 30+ books to it, but if any of them are like The Wee Free Men, then I am definitely going to be picking them up. And if you have read this one already, let me know what you thought!

Leave a Reply

