Book Review: Drown

26115647Title: Drown

Author: Esther Dalseno

Publication Date: October 31st, 2015

Rating: 4 Stars

Publisher: 3 Little Bird Books

AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS
Summary:
Seven emotionless princesses.
Three ghostly sirens.
A beautiful, malicious witch haunted by memories
A handsome, self-mutilating prince.

Belonging to a race that is mostly animal with little humanity, a world obsessed with beauty where morality holds no sway, a little mermaid escapes to the ocean’s surface. Discovering music, a magnificent palace of glass and limestone, and a troubled human prince, she is driven by love to consult the elusive sea-witch who secretly dominates the entire species of merfolk. Upon paying an enormous price for her humanity, the little mermaid begins a new life, uncovering secrets of sexuality and the Immortal Soul. As a deadly virus threatens to contaminate the bloodstreams of the whole merfolk race, the little mermaid must choose between the lives of her people, the man she loves, or herself.

My Review:

Okay this book took me totally by surprise. I originally heard about this book from my sister who absolutely loves mermaids. When 3 Little Bird Books put out a request for bloggers to review this book, I knew I had to jump on the chance. I mean look at that synopsis, and that COVER! Let me just start by saying this is not your cute Disney version of The Little Mermaid. I have never read the original tale but I do know how it ends, but with Esther’s retelling I couldn’t be sure exactly where she was going with it. And I loved that mystery! I could not put this one down and ended up finishing this in like a day.

We all know the story of The Little Mermaid, whether its the original or the Disney version… A little mermaid makes a deal with the sea-witch for legs so that she can be with the man she loves. Like I said we all know the story, so I won’t go in to to much detail, also I want you guys to go into this novel with no idea what is going to happen. It’s so much better that way! The way Esther takes this story though is so interesting. So this story follows the little mermaid, who lives with her family in their castle. But these are not mermaids like we know. They have no humanity, they believe beauty is the most important thing, and they care only for themselves. It was such an interesting take on mermaids. One I have never read before. There is also the sea-witch who is definitely interesting. It’s pretty easy to see who she is but as you keep reading you get more and more how she came to be the sea-witch and why she is the way she is.

Then there is the Prince. Who because I am a sap, I wanted the little mermaid to end up with him and the great thing about this book is you don’t know if they will or won’t. She could have taken it either way. But guys, after getting more and more in to the book I really did not want her to end up with the prince, but with his Uncle… Yeah I know you’re probably asking yourself why, but honestly just read the book and you will see what I am talking about! These characters were so honest and well thought out and just so well done. There wasn’t a character in this book that I disliked. They’re all interesting enough that I wanted to read more about each one. This story is told from different perspectives, and sometimes I hate reading multiple perspectives but I thought Esther just did a fantastic job of making each character have their own voice that I wasn’t bored reading any different perspective. They were all really interesting characters in their own way. The Little Mermaid had her love for the prince but she worked hard. There was just something about her that I really loved. They all had their own problems and demons and things they had to fight off, that reading about it was simply amazing. Esther did such a fantastic job of making these characters come to life for me. And to see such a dark take on such a beloved classic is just amazing. Going in to fairytale retelling’s I think a lot of us expect the story because we’ve all heard it before, but with Drown that is so far from the truth. It was the journey of the book that I loved. The ending was predictable, but it still surprised me with the way she took it, but not like ‘oh I didn’t see that coming’ more like ‘oh that’s the way she’s taking it’. But nonetheless I loved every second of this story and I can’t wait to see what comes next for Esther! If you haven’t already, I really suggest picking up this book. It’s such an interesting retelling and not to mention it’s a fairly quick read.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Drown

  1. I reviewed Drown back in September and I’ve been patiently waiting for other reviews to pop up. I’m so happy that you enjoyed it. I thought it was so good. I was confused at first why there were no names given to the characters, but it made so much sense in the end. I also loved the uncle. I secretly wanted them to end up together, too. Great review!

    Like

    • I know I thought the same thing! It was definitely a very interesting way that she did the no names! Right! I’m glad I’m not the only one who felt that way! Thank you and thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Esther Dalseno | The Bibliophagist gives a 4-star review of DROWN

Leave a Reply

