Book review: Vicious

13638125 Title: Vicious

Author: V.E. Schwab

Published: September 24th 2013

Publisher: Tor Books

Rating: 5 Stars

AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS
Summary: Victor and Eli started out as college roommates-brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But wen their thesis moves from academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find-aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge-but who will be left alive at the end? 

My Review:

Okay let me just start by saying HOLY CRAP and this review is going to be short because I don’t even know! To be honest when I went in to this book I knew little to nothing about it. I had heard about this book from several different bloggers and it never drew my attention. But then Regan over at PeruseProject started talking about it and she just completely sold me. All I knew was best friends who gain super powers and become enemies. And I knew from that alone I would have to read it, so when my sister bought it I stole it from her (mwahhaha) and read it in about two days. And guys it was crazy good! This story follows Victor and Eli, alternating between past and present, to tell the story of how two best friends became arch nemeses. Victor who just broke out of prison, for reasons unknown, and Eli who is trying to eliminate all the other EOs because he believes them to be unnatural. I have been in quite the reading slump lately and this just pulled me right out. It was such an interesting take on the whole ExtraOrdinary, that I just couldn’t put it down. It’s not a black and white story. Good guy against bad guy. In Vicious we see just how blurred the lines between good and evil really are. And I think that’s one of the things that just worked for this book. It wasn’t the hero fighting to save people from the evil villain. It was one slightly bad guy trying to stop the even worse bad guy. And for me that just worked. It sucked me in and it didn’t stop until I was on the floor. I mean I don’t know about you guys but I love anti-hero stories. They just get the whole not everything is so cut and dry. And I think V.E. just did an amazing job with this and where it went, I mean I did not see that coming until it was right there.

I also think one of the things that really worked for this story was the way it was told in alternating POVs and jumping back and forth between past and present. Usually this drives me insane, and it’s hard to follow, but Victoria pulled it off. I don’t want to talk to much about the plot or what happens in this book, because a lot of the appeal is the fact that you know nothing about what happened and you find it out as you go. With that being said, I will talk about Victor and Eli. Both of these characters were crazy and so well written. I loved Victor. He never claimed to be a hero. He never acted like he was a good guy. But he never did anything truly horrible to me, well I mean there was that one thing, but I could see why he did it. Eli to me was the perfect villain. He wasn’t evil looking in fact he looked charming and had a way with making people like him and  I thought that was a very interesting take. He looked like anyone else and that made him even more dangerous, because he got away with things that he shouldn’t have. I really don’t want to say to much because this story relies on the element of mystery. Why did Victor go to prison, how did they get their powers, and more importantly how did they become enemies? You catch my drift. I mean reading this, at least for me, I had to find out what happened. And not just with Victor, but with Eli and the other characters in this book. They all had a little bit of their story told which I liked. It’s what kept me turning the pages and what had me thinking about the book even after I put it down. Honestly these characters were just so amazingly done. They weren’t perfect and they had their flaws but I was rooting for them so badly. I also couldn’t stop picturing this story in my head. They way the scenes would play out and the way the characters looked. I mean it was such a vivid story that I couldn’t stop picturing everything.

I gave this book 5 stars because I thought it very much deserved it. I would seriously recommend reading this book. Especially if it’s not one you would normally read. It’s different and insane in the best way possible.V.E. definitely knows how to write anti-heroes and I can’t wait till the sequel to come out!  To be quite honest I am so excited and might be freaking out just a little bit. I certainly think it’s worth the read and something that, at least for me, I haven’t quite read. So glad that Victoria has so many other books out and coming out to keep me filled until the next one. You have definitely made a life long fan out of me V.E.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

