I thought blogging had to be hard

Blogging Tips

I am by no means a great blogger. I don’t even consider myself that great of a blogger but I do it because I love reading and I love being able to share my opinions of books, get to know people out there who love books just as much as I do, and help my favorite authors out. That being said when I first started blogging I went in to it thinking a few things.

  1. That it had to be work, this was more a feeling than a thought. I thought if I didn’t post that day or I didn’t read for a couple days I was a failure. I thought in order to be a good blogger that you had to post everyday. That your posts had to be perfect. In a sense I made it harder than it had to be.
  2. That my reviews had to be perfect. Like I said before I am not the worlds greatest blogger but I do it because I love it. That being said, I had and still do sometimes, think that my reviews have to be perfect and share some type of wisdom. Which is so not true. If you read my reviews you know that they are not the most insightful. Basically my reviews are me shouting at you to read the book. That’s basically what my reviews sound/look like to me. But that’s fine. The point isn’t to be perfect or have the right words to say every single time you review a book, but to just get the book out there. To just share the books and authors you love. No matter how popular the author, they will never turn down a good review. Not to mention a lot of authors sometimes need a boost. It’s not an easy job being a writer!
  3. That you had to review every. Single. Book you read. This is my problem. I am a pretty easy person to please and so with books I usually end up either being just okay or really really loving them. So for me I want to share every book I read, but to be perfectly honest that is just not possible. It’s not that I can’t, but after awhile you start to realize that you aren’t reading for yourself. You’re reading for others. I’ve gotten better at not trying to review every book. Instead I try to review the ones that really got me thinking or really made me laugh, or cry or just feel something in general. The ones I couldn’t get out of my head. Or the ones I really don’t like because it’s easier to write about something you hate rather than something you love.
  4. Don’t be afraid to say what you feel. As long as you aren’t being senselessly cruel. Tell people what you thought about this book, but do so in a way that isn’t attacking the author for their life’s work. I still have such a hard sometimes saying that I didn’t like a book. Because like I said that’s someone’s baby. They worked hard on that, and to be honest I’ve met a lot of people who have hated a book I loved or vice versa. Sometimes the right book for you isn’t the right book for someone else.
  5. Expand your reading pool. I am someone who does not read outside her comfort zone (YA) often. But when I do it is gloriously amazing. Sometimes the best books, I find, are the ones you don’t expect. They’re the ones you dread reading or the ones you’ve put off for so long. I have fallen in love with some really great books that I never really expected to love. I am going to be honest with you right now, I won an ARC of The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater before it came out and once I got the book I put it aside and thought why did I even want this book? It doesn’t sound at all like it will be good (I KNOW). So I put off reading it and finally I just decided to get it over with. I know SHOCKING! Because I am soooo glad that I did. Now I basically shove this book at anyone who will listen. Ask my sister! My point is this, don’t be afraid to try something new. Step outside your comfort zone and read something you never would. You never know what magical book you will come across just from trying something new.
  6.  Put in the time. Blogging is hard work. It takes time and ideas and commitment. Most of which I am not very good at. I know this probably contradicts my earlier statement, but you have to be willing to put in the work. You have to want to blog and write a review (even a not so nice one). I have the utmost respect for those bloggers out there who know what they’re doing and who do it so well. Hats off to them for a second. Especially since without them I wouldn’t be here, blogging myself. It never really occurred to me to blog. To share my opinions. But because I follow a lot of bloggers, I have fallen in love with this community and being able to contribute even a tiny bit, makes me extremely happy.
  7. Have fun. Again blogging is not something that you have to dread. It’s not something that should make you unhappy. I’m trying to take my own advice on this one, because sometimes it’s hard. But reading to me has always been an escape. A way to get out of my head for awhile and experience a world I otherwise wouldn’t. That’s what this is about for me. Loving reading and wanting to share that love with you guys.

I’m gonna stop there. This was kind of just a thought I had in my head and I wanted to share with you guys, and to share with someone who maybe wants to start a blog but doesn’t think they can. As Shia says…

tumblr_npntnijAYS1r2aobgo7_400 With that wonderful gif I leave you.

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “I thought blogging had to be hard

  1. These are SO true! I fell into a lot of those pitfalls- hell, I am not even out of a lot of them yet! I also thought I had to review EVERY book. And I quickly realized that no one has that kind of time. Even now, I feel like I MUST review all the review books, and I DO, but not always traditionally, which I JUST stopped doing about two months ago. Best decision ever.

    And you are so right about the work versus fun situation. I put in SO much time- pretty much every single free minute I have- and it can become so, so hard. I need to realize that while it IS work, it should also be fun, and balanced. Fabulous post!

    Like

    • I don’t think you ever stop falling in to these traps! I honestly love the non-traditional book reviews and sometimes I think for a lot of people who don’t have time to sit and read a long review, having quick concise reasons why they should or shouldn’t read the book is a really big help! Well I love your blog and you can tell you put in a lot of time! But it’s hard work just to try and balance the fun/work element. But I’m working on it lol! Thank you for stopping by and I am so glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

