Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic

51RYeVqlj9L Title: A Darker Shade of Magic

Author: V.E. Schwab

Published: February 24th 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS

Summary: Kell is one of the last Travelers-rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit.

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was a Black London-but no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, personal ambassador and adopted Prince of Red London, carrying the monthly correspondences between royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell smuggles for those willing to pay for even a glimpse of a world they’ll never see. This dangerous hobby sets him up for accidental treason. Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a dangerous enemy, then forces him to another world for her ‘proper adventure’.

But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, Kell and Lila will first need to stay alive-trickier than they hoped. 

My Review:

This is my second book I’ve read of Victoria’s and my god, the worlds she builds and the characters she brings to life are just simply amazing. She is such an amazing story-teller that putting down the book was futile. I really regret putting off reading this story. Victoria is definitely on my list of auto-buy authors. She really is a wonderful author and story teller.

This story follows Kell who is a magician who can travel between London’s, and yeah there is more than one London. Grey, Red, White, and Black. Black has been destroyed and the doors between worlds has been sealed shut and only two, Kell and Holland, can travel between worlds. Kell is betrayed after traveling to White London where he flees to Grey London and there he meets Lila Bard. Where they both set out on an adventure to save the world. Let me just say that Lila Bard is a thief and a badass! She is willing to risk her life for Kell and their friendship gives me life. Then there is Rhy who is brothers with Kell, but not by blood. Honestly they are so cute together and they may not be brothers by blood but they are bound to each other. Plus Rhy is hilarious. I can’t even choose who is my favorite character in this book, I mean Lila is probably top of the list though. Then there is Holland and let me just say I hate/love him. He is crazy but I feel for him. I just hope we haven’t seen the last of him but also that isn’t as crazy as when we first met him.

Now let’s talk about this world. I love parallel universes, alternate worlds, traveling between worlds, anything having to do with magic really. And this has all that and more. It’s crazy intense. I mean the action does not stop coming. Every few chapters there was something happening. And let me just say Kell can get himself in to some shit. Which I love because Lila was pretty much the one to save the day and who doesn’t love a girl who saves the day? I am certain that February is going to kill me, not only do we get this sequel we get The Raven King as well. Yeah I will be dead after I read both of these, but I will die a happy death. Because I get more Lila and Kell and Rhy. Which I can’t wait for.

Overall I loved this book and it so lived up to the hype surrounding it and I can’t wait till the next one. I also have the awesome opportunity to meet Victoria in February, which I am so excited for! I can not wait to tell her that her books are amazing! I’m also sure you guys have heard the news that she signed an 8 book deal. One of those books being a YA book called This Savage Song, which sounds amazing, and the other being the sequel to Vicious, which oh my god guys was amazing! I honestly can’t even think after reading one of Victoria’s books. She just turns my brain to mush. But Vicious was just as amazing and I can’t wait to see more of Victor! Well I kind of got side-tracked from what I was here to do, which was tell you just how amazing A Darker Shade of Magic really was. If you haven’t read this one I really really suggest you give it a try! It’s so interesting and keeps you up till the wee hours of the morning just to find out what happens! And let me just say that ending was really good. Seriously guys pick this one up! You won’t regret it!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

