Book Review: Winter

Winter-finalTitle: Winter

Author: Marissa Meyer

Published: November 1oth 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS

Summary: Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend-the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

My Review:

OH MY GOD… I don’t even know what to say to this book. First of all why are all my book series ending!?

giphy

 Seriously WHY! Second of all this was such a great ending to a great series. And yes I know all books must come to an end! I truly am sad to see this series go, but I think Marissa did such an amazing job. Not to mention she has another retelling about the Queen of Hearts! This book was just crazy from the very beginning! I mean what is to be expected from a book that is 800+ pages. And my god were those 827 just pure gold. The action just didn’t stop. I don’t want to spoil this for anyone, so I will be as vague as possible! Okay so this book picks up where we left off in Cress.

If you have not read Cress go no further… Just know this series is amazing and you should read it immediately! 

 

Okay, now that that’s taken care of.. This book, this series is absolutely amazing. We have bad ass females and swoony men! Honestly my favorite is Thorne. He is so cute and sweet and while we didn’t get a whole lot of swoony moments with him and Cress in Cress. We definitely do in this book and my god is it worth the wait. This book honestly just keeps the punches coming. I mean every time you think you’re okay Marissa just hits you again. I mean I was on the edge of my seat the whole time while reading this.

I honestly don’t even know what to say about this book other than I absolutely loved this book. It has so many twist and I loved getting to know more about Winter. She really was an interesting take on Snow White. I also love when fairy tale characters all ban together to stop evil forces and get their happy endings. I also did not see any of this coming. I mean when I finished Cress, I had all these ideas in my head about what was going to happen and I was wrong. Absolutely, completely wrong! Which was a good thing. And oh my god Levana, I hate her! She is unbelievable and she sucks! I mean every time I thought Cinder was close Levana does something that thwarts Cinder and I absolutely hate her for it. I mean she is probably one of the worst villains I have come across, no she is not worst than Umbridge, no one is. But she believes that everything she does is for selfish reason but she believes that what she’s doing is the right thing. Which is even worse because she is a horrible person!

Anyways I could go on all day with how horrible she actually is, but that is not what this review is about. I actually don’t even know what this review is about. Other than me just saying how freaking amazing this book is and how much I love this series. Seriously I love it so much I spent so long hunting down the hard to find arcs just so I could have a pretty collection.

The thing I like about this book is that the characters are amazing.

Cinder: She’s bad ass, can fix anything, she’s witty. She’s afraid but she doesn’t let that stand in the way of fighting for what’s right.

Kai: He’s fantastic. He does everything for the greater good of his country. He’s funny, He loves Cinder and wants to protect her.

Scarlet: Okay I love her. She is not afraid to protect Wolf and what’s hers. She is fearless and sarcastic and witty. I love sarcastic characters and Scarlet is all that and more.

Wolf: I love him. He is a genetically engineered lunar soldier who is just a big softie for Scarlet. He want’s to protect her and take care of her.

Cress: Okay now she is not like Cinder and Scarlet. She’s not used to fighting bad guys and most of the time she is scared. She’s the best hacker in the world and moon. But she’s amazing because she isn’t like the other two characters and I love that.

Thorne: Cocky, swoony, sweet Thorne. He is so cute and you can just tell he has feelings for Cress but he doesn’t admit them and it’s so cute trying to impress her! Ahhh I just can’t! *GOES AND HIDES UNDER THE COVERS AND SQUEELS*

Winter: She is amazing. She refuses to use her powers on herself or anyone else because she knows how horrible it is to use. She’s going crazy from it. But I love that she’s a little unpredictable and that she’s also kind of amazing and funny.

Jacin: I like Jacin. He definitely wasn’t my favorite character but I liked that he wanted to protect Winter. He loves her and he’s so cute when he’s with her.

I loved the relationships and the way every one wanted to protect their partner. This book is just filled with craziness and happiness and I loved every second. Even when the group was narrowly escaping Levana’s clutches. I definitely think that you should pick up this series if you haven’t already! But if you have come fangirl with me over on twitter (@JacklinU) about this series.

Leave a Reply

