Truthwitch Read-along: Discussion #1

truthwitch2breadalong

Ahhh the first week of the read-along is almost over and Bookish Whimsy posted some awesome questions to answer! Plus this book is awesome already. I don’t know how I will stick to the schedule! 

 

1. Safi and Iseult are fantastic fighters. Have you ever wanted to lear how to fight, take self-defense classes or have you already? Tell us about your reasoning/experience.

I was actually just telling my sister about wanting to take self defense classes! I would love to learn how to fight. Learning to fight has been on my list of things I want to learn for a long time. I mean every time I watch some badass woman in a movie kick butt I think “Hell yeah I want to be able to do that!” 

2. Of these specialized witcheries revealed so far (truthwitch, threadwitch, bloodwitch, wordwitch, windwitch, voicewitch) which power would you like to have and why?

I think for me I would pick truthwitch. It would just be really amazing to know if someone was lying to you or not. All though if I’m being honest I would just take all the powers muahahaha!

3. The beginning of the books already features political intrigue, Safi and Iseult trying to get away, and the mystery of cleaving. Which plot point interests you so far and why?

So far I am loving the mystery of cleaving and Safi and Iseult trying to get away. Those near misses are always my favorite to read about! They keep you on the edge of your seat. Not to mention throw in the mystery of what cleaving is and why it happens and you have me hooked. Also why Iseult can see what she sees when someone who is cleaving dies…. SOOOO GOOD!

4. Share a favorite quote from the book!

“Weasels piss on you, Iz.”  -Safi
This quote made me crack up! I love that and will forever use ‘Weasels piss on you’ to tell off anyone I am upset with!

-Character spotlight: Safiya/ talk about what you like or dislike about Safi. Do you identify with her in anyway? What do you think about her actions so far?

She is definitely impulsive but so far I really like her. Both her and Iseult’s friendship is  awesome and I can’t wait to read more about it. She is most certainly a badass and I love that she’s kind of sassy and strong. I definitely relate to her in that way, especially the part about her either running from her emotions or beating them in to submission. She doesn’t always take the time to think things through but I love that impulsiveness! I love that her and Iseult kind of complement each other and both have each others backs so far!

 

Honestly so far I am loving this book! I know I’ve only read 9 chapters but I can’t wait to continue and find out more about this world and Safi and Iseult! Next week’s discussion will take place over at Candid Cover

10 thoughts on “Truthwitch Read-along: Discussion #1

  1. It is hard to pause reading this book! I hope that you do take those self-defence classes! You’re right. It would be amazing to pull off some of those moves we see in movies and books. Looking forward to your next post! 🙂

    Like

  2. I totally agree with wanting to emulate the kick-butt women you see in movies and TV! And probably being a truthwitch would be my second pick – it would be fantastic to know if someone is lying to you. Probably depressing too when you see how much people lie, but it’s such a useful magic. And I love the quote question for this, because it’s highlighting awesome quotes I somehow missed – Weasels piss on you is hilarious! 😀

    Like

    • Right! I’m so glad that there are more and more women kicking butt! Definitely! Especially if it was someone you loved and you knew when they were lying just not why. Right! I was gonna do a serious quote and then I read this one and just couldn’t help myself

      Like

  3. That quote you picked was super great! I’ll also have to add that into my arsenal! And I know right?! I would so grab all the powers haha and be epic like that 😉 Anyway, I really enjoyed your responses. I’d have to agree with you when you said that you identify with Safi when she says she either runs away from her emotions or beats them into submission. I see myself doing that as well. I can’t wait to read the rest of the book and read more of everyone’s answers. Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    • Haha thank you. Wouldn’t it just be epic to say to someone! Yes! High five to see I’m not the only greedy all magic stealing person in the room :P. Same here! It’s so good and I can’t wait to find out what happens! Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

