Book Review: Tell the Wind and Fire

16221851Title: Tell the Wind and Fire

Author: Sarah Rees Brennan

Publish date: April 5, 2016

Publisher: Clarion books

Rating: 5 Stars

AMAZON | GOODREADS | B&N

Summary: In a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets.

Lucie Manette was born in the Dark half of the city, but careful manipulations won her a home in the Light, celebrity status, and a rich, loving boyfriend. Now she just wants more to keep her head down, but her boyfriend has a dark secret of his own-one involving an apparent stranger who is destitute and despised. Lucie alone knows the young man’s deadly connection, and even as knowledge leads her to make a grave mistake, she can trust no one with the truth.

Blood and secrets alike spill out when revolution erupts. With both halves of the city burning, and mercy nowhere to be found, can Lucie save either boy-or herself? 

My Review: 

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

My god this book just killed me. I’m dead and I am writing this review from beyond the grave… Seriously though I knew I loved Sarah and her writing the minute I picked up Unspoken. It’s so simple and yet it draws you in until the very last page. Which is what this book did. I didn’t want to put it down, which is of course why the universe thought it would be funny to make me have to put it down every 5 minutes. That being said I have been in such a reading slump that I didn’t want to pick up this book because I thought I would have to force myself through it, and yet I didn’t. I kept flipping the pages because it was just so good. It was different, and came with a lot of really amazing characters and such a diverse cast. I loved the dynamic between Lucie and her father and Lucie and Ethan. And I loved that you could see the way Lucie changed. She went from being someone who stayed quite out of fear of hurting those she loved. She wanted to protect them and you see that all throughout the book. You see her struggle with being a good person and the type’s of choices she’s had to make. And while you the reader knows the good and bad are not black and white, Lucie doesn’t see it that way. At least not yet. And let me just say, I LOVE the way that Sarah writes her female characters. They are all strong in their own way, but it doesn’t change the fact that they are STRONG. And not just physically but mentally too. I love reading her books because these characters are the types of characters I can root for. Lucie is someone you can root for! If you are looking for badass characters I suggest you pick up this one or the Unspoken trilogy. Seriously this story had Lucie and her friend Nadiya (who I wish we saw more of) and Unspoken has badass, snarky, sassy Kami but also her best friend Angela. 

Now the New York that Lucie lives in has two sides, both sides have magic, the Light and the Dark. The Light have beautiful rings they were that help them with their magic. They deem their magic good and right. While the Dark magicians are wrong. The Light magicians (and not everyone has magic) look down on those that live in the Dark, even though they need them to survive. What I love about this is that you can see the contrast. Not all Light magicians/people are good and not all Dark magicians/people are bad. For this world though it is very black and white. You’re either good or bad and there is no in between. The Dark are punished for the slightest transgression while the Light get away with murder (literally). What was so interesting was watching the way Lucie grew from the mind set of strong or weak, good or bad. You saw the way her thinking changed throughout the course of this book. And while she does break down she is still an incredibly strong character. This story, especially that ending, brought me to tears. The sacrifices and the love that these characters shared was just amazing. Another thing I loved was that Ethan let Lucie be Lucie and he still loved her. He wasn’t trying to change her. There were times where they kept secrets from each other, which usually drives me crazy, but with this it didn’t. They kept trying to protect one another until they couldn’t anymore, but they didn’t let it stop them from loving each other, they just grew as people. They learned how to trust and know that the other person had a right to know what the other was keeping.

One thing I will complain about is, and I don’t want to spoil anyone. But she kind of left it open at the end. I’m not sure if there is going to be more to this story or if this is it, but I would like to see more. I would like to get to know some characters more and I would like to see how Lucie fights a certain someone. I do have to say it wasn’t the worst ending.. I liked that you knew Lucie was finally going to fight back. That this wasn’t the way she wanted her world. I loved that her thinking changed from black and white, to not everything is so easy. She doesn’t believe Light is all good and Dark is all bad. I would really love to see more of that kind of thinking from Lucie, but if this is all we get I am satisfied with the ending.Overall I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was funny, and cry worthy. Something I will definitely be adding to my shelf. Especially since I have the ARC. I definitely need the finished copy as well. I seriously think you guys should go pick this one up when it comes out. Which is next month! So not to far away! But seriously if you have read any other Sarah books, know that this one lives up to her amazingness. And if you haven’t read any of her books, WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE! Just kidding…. Sorta.

 

Until next time…

GO READ IT AND THEN COME TALK TO ME ABOUT IT!

 

Leave a Reply

