Book Review: Into the Dim

25897792  Title: Into the Dim

Author: Janet B. Taylor

Series: Into the Dim #1

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Publish Date: March 1st 2016

Rating: 

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N

Summary: When fragile, sixteen-year-old Hope Walton loses her mom to an earthquake overseas, her secluded world crumbles. Agreeing to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic, but also a member of a secret society of time travelers. Trapped in the twelfth century in the age of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Hope has seventy-two hours to rescue her mother and get back to their own time. Along the way, her path collides with that of a mysterious boy who could be vital to her mission… or the key to Hope’s undoing. 

 

My Review:

I received this book through Emma’s ARC adopt over at Miss Print for an honest review. So this story follows Hope a young girl who learns that her mother has died. After being contacted by her Aunt, from Scotland, and being asked to stay with them. Hope learns that her mother is not dead just trapped in time and the only one who can save her is Hope. This concept is such an interesting one. I love stories about time travel and this one definitely delivered! Now the way time travel works in this book is that you have to have a Lodestone on you made of Opal. If you don’t really bad things can happen. You also can not travel back to the same spot in time. The way the time traveling works is really confusing to explain but it makes sense when you read it. The main character Hope was, to me at least, really quite annoying at first, but I liked that with time she kind of came in to her own. And you really can’t blame her for her reactions. She had no idea time travel existed until it was thrust upon her and then the very next day she’s traveling back in time. So it’s understandable that she would freak out every now and then. I absolutely loved that characters in this story. I thought Phoebe and Collum were awesome. Collum was a little annoying, just because he was really mean to Hope in the very beginning. He would call her weak and yell at her but then the next second he would laugh at her joke and say ‘that’s my girl’. Like make up your mind dude. Hope grew on me as the story went on. I loved that she got stronger and didn’t let her fears get in the way of saving her mom and friends. Eleanor of Aquitaine is AMAZING! She was this badass woman who just blindly helped Hope, Collum, and Phoebe. She also didn’t take shit. I just loved the woman of this story. Well most of them.

Now I loved Bran. He does some mean things but he always protects Hope and he doesn’t treat her with kid gloves. He helps her. He stands by her when she has to face a fear and he brings her through if she needs help. I thought their relationship was so cute. I did get a feeling that Collum likes Hope and I really hope (<– haha see what I did there) that this series doesn’t end up having a love triangle. Because while I like Collum, I think the way he treats Hope is just so predictable. You know boy likes girl, boy treats her meanly hoping she won’t do anything stupid or he does everything for or he doesn’t want her to take risks, etc. ect. I like him well enough on his own and I’m hoping their relationship grows more in the next book, but just as friends. I just felt that while Collum didn’t think Hope could do anything, Bran always knew she could do anything. And he treated her that way. Not as someone who needed saving, even though he saved her quite a bit. Which I loved!  

This story definitely moves really fast. Which was good and bad. Good because we got a lot of action in a very short amount of time, which I liked because the story didn’t drag on with all the explanations and what not. And bad in the sense that we didn’t get a lot of time to get to know the characters. This is going to be a series so hopefully we will get to know these characters more in the next book. I also really want to see what happens between Hope’s mom and dad. I am also really sad that Rachel and Eleanor won’t be in the next one (although maybe they will). While this story does move fast and get to the action quickly, I did think that the middle dragged a bit. But once I got past that I couldn’t finish this book fast enough. I can’t wait to see where this story leads and it’s definitely one I recommend to you guys. It’s a great fantasy novel. With amazing characters and love stories, and near misses (which will keep you on the edge of your seat). This was definitely a story that I wasn’t thinking ahead of, wondering what would happen. How would they get out. It’s not one that you can guess, at least for me, where the story is going. Which I liked. No one ever wants to guess and be right about how the story is going to end.

Seriously guys go and pick this one up because it was really really interesting. It’s definitely worth the read! I gave this one 4 out of 5 stars. It was quite good. 

 

Leave a Reply

