The Kiss of Deception Review

16429619Title: The Kiss of Deception

Author:  Mary E. Pearson

Series: The Remnant Chronicles #1

Publisher: Henry Holt

Publish Date: July 8th 2014

Rating: 5 Stars

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N

Summary: A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day. 

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive-and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets-secrets that may unravel her world-even as she feels herself falling in love. 

 

My Thoughts:

I just finished reading The Kiss of Deception and I am totally hooked. These books (the first two) were purely impulse buys! All I knew about this book was princess runs away from arranged marriage, an assassin and a prince go after her but you don’t know which is which. I had heard such great things and each book has 4 star average on Goodreads, the cover for the third book was released and I fell in love, and the author was going to be at Yallwest. So I just bought both of them because I thought why not and then before I even read them I had them signed to me personally. Sometimes a leap of faith regarding books works. I am so in love. I am currently participating in the TRC Read-along and I am having so much fun. I haven’t been keeping up with it because of all the review books I have that I need to read, but I am still joining in when I can. The Kiss of Deception is the first book in The Remnant Chronicles series. There are three books and the third one will be coming out in August! I CANNOT WAIT!

The Kiss of Deception follows Lia who is being forced into a marriage to some man she doesn’t know. She decides with her best friend Pauline, to turn her back on her kingdom and title and run away. Little does she know that an assassin has been sent to kill her and the prince she was supposed to marry are coming to find her. I LOVED this book.The characters, Lia especially was so relatable, aside from the whole princess thing. Although I’m still not convinced that i’m not secretly a princess. But I fell in love with her. She was funny and badass. And then the boys show up. What I absolutely loved and was blown away by was the fact that Mary completely tricked me into who was who. I didn’t even see it coming. I remember thinking, I thought we didn’t know who was who, and then I thought maybe it’s only Lia that doesn’t know. And then the scene with the reveal completely took me by surprise! I loved it. I loved that I didn’t actually know who was who.

Now the characters are something I love. Although i’m not a very big fan of Kaden. He just bothered me. I can’t really put my finger on it, maybe it was because I love Rafe more. I mean I LOVE Rafe. He and Lia were adorable and worked so well together. I felt a bigger connection to them then I did with Lia and Kaden. I can’t wait to see what happens next in the series. If I wasn’t participating in this read along I would be jumping all over The Heart of Betrayal. Lia was a badass. She wasn’t afraid to stand up for her friends. Lia is determined not to have her fate decided for her and I admire her decision to run away from everything she’s ever known.

“If you were so foolish as to lay one of your lecherous fingers on me, I fear we’d both regret it. It would ruin the festivities for everyone here, because I’d slice away at the nearest thing to me, no matter how small.”
Pg. 247

Pauline was Lia’s best friend and she was absolutely loyal. I loved that she was absolutely willing to jump on a horse and run away with her friend, without question. She knew this was what Lia wanted and she accepted it. I love reading stories with great female friendships. It makes me fall even more in love with the book. Rafe, oh man what do we say about Rafe! Other than he was amazing. I loved him so much. I don’t want to say too much and give anything away, but I love the things he was willing to do for Lia. Kaden on the other hand bothered me. Maybe it was just because I thought I had him figured out, and was already rooting for a certain character, but I find him to be quite annoying and childish. But that’s just me because I know some people love him. In the end though I think all the characters are amazing and do amazing in this story. I can’t wait to get into them more in the second book. I do love that this series is told in multiple points of view which I am becoming very fond of. Especially with this series. It is done so well and we really get a good sense of each character. Not once was I confused as to who was speaking, nor did I have to go back and read who this chapter was focusing on. One thing that I didn’t notice was that when they do the chapter for the assassin or the prince, they don’t use their names. It didn’t even occur to me that it was happening, because I thought I had them figured out. So it wasn’t until the reveal that I went back and looked and realized what had happened. It was just so subtle and was a complete surprise. I loved it. This isn’t a series I had been paying much attention to, other than the covers, because they are beautiful, but I went in knowing very little and I definitely suggest reading these books that way. But even if you do know what’s going on, reading this will still be an awesome read!

That ending as well! OH MAN! That was such a great ending and I am so glad that I can binge read this series because if I had to wait a year to figure out what was going on I would totally flip out. It’s a great story, with great characters and a story that is full of surprises! I definitely recommend reading this one! Especially if you like assassin’s and princes and mystery.

I am going to be talking about the sequel and what I hope will happen next so if you don’t want spoilers please don’t read this!

What I hope for the sequel:

-More Rafe and Lia
-Lia becomes friends with the barbarians, and they trust her
-She learns more about herself and her kingdom
-answers: what are her powers? How powerful is she? What can she do with it?

What I hope doesn’t happen:

-Love triangle (please don’t do this to me)
-Kaden gets over it
-People die

Leave a Reply

