Savage Review

23299512 Title: This Savage Song

Series: Monsters of Verity #1

Author: Victoria Schwab

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Publish date: July 5 2016

Rating: 5 Stars

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N

Summary: There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villians-and friends or enemies-with future of their homes at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city-a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent-but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

 

My Review:

Okay honestly what do I even say about This Savage Song, because all I really want to do is go outside (not normal) and scream at people about this book (normal). This will be the 5th book I’ve read by Victoria and I am just in love. I mean at this point my obsession with her knows no bounds. She doesn’t even need to tell me what her new books are about, I’ll just buy them. Even though a girl falling in love with the Devil over 300 years sounds pretty damn interesting! That being said let’s focus on This Savage Song. This book follows Kate Harker, a human who wants to be a monster and August Flynn, a monster who wishes to be a human. They live in a world where acts of violence breeds monsters. The Corasi who eat anything and everything, the Malchai who eat everyone, and the Suni who can only eat those who have committed acts of violence. What I find so fascinating about the worlds Victoria creates is the fact that it’s not good against evil. The lines are so blurred and what one person thinks is the right thing to do, may be the worst thing they can do. I love reading Victoria’s questions and how far she’s willing to push them. It’s that moral compass and I love how twisted Victoria makes it.

One thing I find when reading a Victoria book is that the first book is always really rich in detail. She really sets the scene for her books. Let’s us dive in and get comfortable before she starts maiming people. For me I love the slow build. I love getting to know a character. Really get a sense of who they are before shit starts happening. Honestly, for me, Victoria’s books always pull me in. She makes me feel things for characters I normally wouldn’t like and she makes you question the way you think. Her style of writing really flows off the page for me and it keeps me turning page after page. I am extremely interested to see how Our Dark Duet is. And I love that it’s going to be a duology. It’s going to be crazy!

When I first read the summary on goodreads, I was confused. I wasn’t sure quite what this book was about other than, monsters and humans. But the element of surprise was what worked. Not to mention the writing in this novel. Victoria really delivers this gritty and dark sense of the bad things people do. That line between good and bad is what always draws me to Victoria’s writing. She has this amazing ability of being able to push someone to their limit. To see how far her characters will go and it is just amazing to me the type of result her stories get. Not to mention the characters. Kate who is a badass and tries very hard to prove to her father that she is a Harker. And I love it because on the outside we see this girl who acts like nothing affect her. She’s unbreakable. But inside she doesn’t like doing the things she’s doing. She doesn’t like the blood or the killing and watching her struggle to come to terms with the things she has to do and the world she has to live in, is part of the reason I am so drawn to this book and to Kate as a character. One of my biggest things is getting in the mind of someone. Seeing why they did what they did. What pushed them that far. And so I loved getting more and more into why Kate was the way she was. Why she thought she had to be ruthless. This Savage Song delivered so well for me.

Then there’s August who doesn’t want the power he’s been given. He struggles with being a monster and wanting to be a human. One of the most interesting aspects was going dark. If the Sunai do not feed they end up going dark and as a result they lose a part of their humanity. Which was such a fascinating thing to see in August because all he’s ever wanted was his humanity. So he eats and proves he’s a monster or he doesn’t and goes dark and loses the very thing he’s always wanted. Both Kate and August’s struggle was so similar but very different. We see these characters who just want to do right by those they love. Even if as a reader you see that it’s the wrong decision. I did love the interactions between both Kate and August. It was probably my favorite part of the whole book. I loved that they kind of just connected with each other, but that they didn’t fall in love. The story was much bigger than that and I love that Victoria did such a wonderful job.

Overall This Savage Song was a dark and beautifully told story of the line between human and monster and what makes someone make certain choices. I would most definitely recommend this to anyone and everyone. I was going to compare it but I honestly don’t think there is anything out there to compare it too. It’s really uniquely different. Also as a little note I know people have given up because the first half moves a bit slow, but I promise you that it is worth it. You won’t be disappointed with this book.

I can’t believe I have to wait a year for Our Dark Duet and THAT TITLE

*DIES A LITTLE BIT INSIDE*

I’m also about 99.9% sure Victoria Schwab sold her soul to get amazing titles and covers!

 

Did you guys read this one? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

