The Shadow Hour Review

27245910 Title: The Shadow Hour

Series: The Girl at Midnight

Author: Melissa Grey

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publish Date: July 12 2016

Rating: 4 Stars 

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N

Summary: A battle has been won. But the war has only just begun. 

Everything in Echo’s life changed in a blinding flash when she learned the startling truth: she is the firebird, the creature of light that is said to bring peace.

The firebird has come into the world, but has not come alone. Every action has an equal and opposite reaction, and Echo can feel a great and terrible darkness rising in the distance. Cosmic forces threaten to tear the world apart.

Echo has already lost her home, her family, and her boyfriend. Now, as the firebird, her path is filled with even greater dangers than the ones she’s already overcome.

She knows the Dragon Prince will not fall without a fight.

Echo must decide: can she wield the power of her true nature- or will it prove too strong for her, and burn what’s left of her world to the ground? 

Welcome to the shadow hour.

 

My Review:

 I received this ARC from Emma Print’s ARC adoption in exchange for an honest review.

The Shadow Hour, the second book in the Girl at Midnight trilogy, Echo along with her friends are in hiding from both the Avicen and the Drakharin. While trying to figure out their next move Echo learns that the firebird is not the only thing that came through the door on the night of its release. Now Echo along with Ivy, Caius, Dorian, and Jasper will have to fight the evil before it destroys everything. I was a little apprehensive going into this book, because if you have read my blog posts you know how bad I am with sequels. But I was holding out hope because of how much I liked the first book and Echo as a character. Along with the world Melissa has created. That being said The Shadow Hour did not disappoint. In this book Echo is struggling with not only who she is, but the voices of the firebirds that came before her as well. This is one of the very few problems I had with this book. I couldn’t figure out how many she had in her head. Was it a couple, several, or a thousand. It became clear at the end of the book but it was still a bit confusing. Again only a small problem compared to what I did like.

Like Jasper and Dorian. I was greatly invested in the relationship of these two or lack thereof. To be honest I thought the flow of banter between these two was very natural and the chemistry was amazing. Just wish I would have got more of them before the end of the book. I do like Echo and Caius but I am really not liking this whole love triangle thing. I have never nor will I ever be a fan. One thing I will say is that their relationship is not the main focus of the book. The main focus is the war that’s going on. Now I don’t want to spoil anything so I won’t go into to much detail but I can’t not stop and say something about Tanith… OHHH that girl gets me so angry. I want to hate her but I also feel for her. She’s doing what she thinks is the best thing for her people. But for real she needs to be slapped! And to be honest her future doesn’t bode well for her.

One thing I really liked was a very small glimpse into Echo’s past. Which I for one thought was to short but hopefully that means that we will see it play a bigger part in the third book. Which I think is a real possibility because of the way her childhood has shaped her. She became the person she is because of the bad things and I think it will be very important for Echo to realize that. Also there was a mention of her real name although they don’t actually say it. I think that mention might hint at maybe possibly learning her name. My theory is that she will take back her name or that her name will unleash something. 

Overall I really enjoyed this book. It definitely did not fall in to the sequel curse category. I thought it was well done. There was nothing shoved in for shock value. Everything was done in a way to move the story along. And I for one enjoyed where Melissa is taking this world. I can’t wait to see what happens in the third and final book. Which isn’t out until 2017 and is titled The Savage Dawn. I can’t wait for it to come out and also see its cover! I rated this one 4 stars and really recommend it to those that like fantasy and magic. It’s a great world with funny characters and some pretty stupid hijinks that somehow get pulled off! 

Leave a Reply

