Furthermore review

furthermoreTitle: Furthermore

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers

Publish Date: August 30, 2016

Rating: 4 Stars

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N

Summary: There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit–and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself–and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss. 

 

My Review:

 

Okay I don’t really know where to begin this review. I’ve restarted it so many times now. So I guess I am just going to jump into it. This will probably be a short review. Furthermore is actually really hard to explain. I enjoyed it which is how I went in to this story. I didn’t really have any ideas about this story or any expectations. Furthermore, like Tahereh’s other books, are rich in detail and inner dialogue. Yes at times it was a bit tedious but I found it really helped when I was trying to picture things in this world. For me Mafi’s books are very hit or miss. I liked Shatter Me, hated Unravel Me, and loved Ignite Me. Futhermore was enjoyable but I didn’t absolutely love it. I did like it enough to preorder it though.

 

 

What I liked:

Alice and her growth throughout this novel really got to me. I loved seeing how much she grows and changes as a person from her time in Furthermore. All she wants right now is to get her task and leave home and find father. After the disappearance of her father, her mother doesn’t have time and is always mad. It’s so sad to see how much she doesn’t think that her family wants her. It’s no wonder her and Oliver become best friends. Oliver is a kid whose talent causes him to get everything he wants. They both just want people who care about them and choose them over everyone else. I liked the dynamic between Oliver and Alice, even if Alice hated Oliver at first. It’s what made it work for me.

I also quite enjoyed the world. It was interesting to see Furthermore and how strange the world was. I thought it did a great job reminding you of the strangeness of Wonderland. The rules and the people who lived there were so strange. First off they ate people. WHAT? And the difference in worlds. Like the paper world or being able to stand on clouds and move downwards through the ground. Not to mention figuring out what the ruler has to do with the story. I loved how each bit of information was brought to light. How you kept figuring things our slowly. Also the mystery that the narrator brought to the story was awesome. There was always a comment from them that caused you to have more questions. I loved it. It was such an interesting way to tell the story and one I haven’t read before.

What left me wanting more:

I did really enjoy this story, but I do wish we got more background in to the kids talents. Why they had them. Where they got them from. It was so interesting to me, seeing that each kid had a special talent. I just would have liked to see more info on them. That being said I did like that they had talents. I thought it was a great touch to the story. And the last thing that bothered me a bit, was the ease with which they got out of Furthermore. They had such a struggle getting through Furthermore and come to find out that the high ups were keeping tabs and looking for them. And they just easily stepped through a door without having to go back the way they came, was a little to easy. Especially since I don’t know if this is a standalone or a series. I would be interested to see the repercussions of Alice and Oliver’s trip to Furthermore and if anyone comes after them. The ending does leave it a bit open to more if Tahereh is going to write more.

Overall, Furthermore was strange and creepy in the best possible way. I loved the characters and the voice this book had. It was a great read for those who want to be entertained. I really enjoyed myself when reading this one. Fans of Tahereh’s books or Alice in Wonderland will definitely enjoy Furthermore. Give it a try. And if you have read it let me know what you think about it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

